Cleary, William (Willie)

During WWI, the Royal 22nd (French Canadian) Battalion, Quebec, nicknamed the Van Doos (an English play on words with the number 22), disembarked in France in September 1915, where it fought as part of the 5th Infantry Brigade, 2nd Canadian Division, in France and Flanders until the end of the war. Among its ranks were two remarkable aboriginal soldiers, both of whom received the Military Medal: William Cleary and Joseph Roussin.

William Cleary

Private William Cleary, a Montagnais, was born on June 3, 1897 in Pointe-Bleue (known as Mashteuiatsh since 1985), a First Nations reserve in the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean region, Quebec. He was working as a day labourer at the time he enlisted in Chicoutimi on March 24, 1916.

Cleary served as a scout in the 22nd Battalion. In February 1918, he volunteered to join a raiding party headed for an enemy trench near Lens, France. When the party returned to their own trenches after the raid, they discovered that two of their group had been left behind. Cleary immediately returned to the enemy position and, with help from three others, brought back the two missing wounded men.

Three months later, private Cleary suffered a gunshot wound, which forced him to recuperate in Great Britain. Cleary returned to Canada in February 1919 and, in October of that year, at La Fontaine Park, Montréal, he received the Military Medal from the Prince of Wales, the future Edward VIII, for conspicuous gallantry in an important trench raid.

Joseph Roussin

Private Joseph Roussin, a Mohawk from the Kanesatake Band, was born on April 12, 1887, in Oka, Québec. Prior to enlisting in Ottawa with the Canadian Expeditionary (CEF) Force on July 16, 1915, Roussin worked as a lumberjack.

Roussin first served in Ottawa with the new 77th Canadian Infantry Battalion before being transferred to the 38th Battalion on December 6, 1915. This Battalion served on garrison duty in Bermuda. On January 26, 1916, Roussin joined the 69th Infantry Battalion which embarked for Britain on 17 April 1916. Roussin was finally taken on the strength of the 22nd Battalion on August 27, 1916.

On August 15, 1917, the opening day of the Battle of Hill 70, near Lens, France, Roussin serving as a scout merited his Military Medal for carrying out a successful solo attack against eight enemy soldiers. Having attacked and killed five German soldiers, he came back with three prisoners and a gash in his arm from an enemy bayonet thrust. Fortunately, the wound healed, and he returned to action one month later.

In the history of the battalion, Roussin is remembered as one of the most wounded men in the Regiment:

In the chaplain's hut ... another casualty has just been given first aid. One of the scouts from the Van Doos has been wounded in the wrist. Roussin, an Indian, is the most wounded man in the Regiment, perhaps in the entire British Army. This one will earn him a ninth wound stripe. It's starting to become old hat to him; he's patched up and heads back to his post!

Roussin was wounded nine times during his service at the front, but he survived the war and returned to Canada in late 1918.

Further reading

  • Library and Archives Canada. Soldiers of the First World War: 1914-1918. Joseph Roussin’s Attestation Papers. Retrieved March 8, 2016
  • Library and Archives Canada. Soldiers of the First World War: 1914-1918. William Cleary’s attestation paper Retrieved March 8, 2016
  • Veterans Affairs Canada. Native Soldiers, Foreign Battlefields. [Ottawa]: Veterans Affairs Canada, 2005. Retrieved March 7, 2016
Biographical Record
Full Name Cleary, William (Willie)
Heritage Montagnais
Band Name Montagnais du Lac St-Jean
Band Location Mashteuiatsh, QC
Birth Date 1897-06-03
Birthplace Pointe-Bleue, PQ
Next of Kin Mother: Marguerite Cleary
Occupation before Enlistment Labourer
Religion Roman Catholic
Conflict WWI
Service Number 672469
Service Files http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/first-world-war-1914-1918-cef/Pages/list.aspx?k=RegimentNum%3a%22672469%22
CEF Unit 22e Bataillon canadien-français
Rank Private
Date of Enlistment 1916-03-24
Location of Enlistment Chicoutimi, PQ
Age at Enlistment 19
Medal awarded (MM)
Identifier 9082

Cleary, William (Willie)

Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, le 22e Bataillon canadien-français de Québec, surnommé les « Vandoos » (à cause de la prononciation de vingt-deux en anglais), a mis pied à terre en France en septembre 1915, où il s’est battu au sein de la 5e Brigade d’infanterie de la 2e Division canadienne tant en France qu’en Flandres jusqu’à la fin de la guerre. Au moins deux soldats autochtones exceptionnels de ce bataillon obtinrent la Médaille militaire pour bravoure : William Cleary et Joseph Roussin.

William Cleary

William Cleary, un Montagnais, est né le 3 juin 1897 à Pointe-Bleue (connue sous le nom de Mashteuiatsh depuis 1985), une réserve des Premières Nations située dans la région du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean, Québec. Il travaillait comme journalier au moment de s’enrôler à Chicoutimi le 24 mars 1916.

Cleary a servi à titre d’éclaireur dans le 22e Bataillon. En février 1918, il s’est porté volontaire pour se joindre à un détachement qui se dirigeait vers un poste ennemi situé près de Lens, en France. Quand les commandos sont revenus dans leur propre tranchée, ils se sont rendu compte que deux des leurs manquaient à l’appel. Cleary est immédiatement retourné au poste ennemi et, avec l’aide de trois autres soldats, il ramena les deux hommes blessés.

Trois mois plus tard, Cleary fut blessé par balle, l’obligeant à passer une période de convalescence en Grande-Bretagne. En février 1919, Cleary était de retour au Canada. C’est en octobre de la même année, au parc La Fontaine de Montréal, qu’il a reçu des mains du prince de Galles, le futur roi Édouard VII, sa Médaille militaire pour actes de bravoure lors d’un raid important.

Joseph Roussin

Joseph Roussin, un Mohawk de la bande de Kanesatake, est né le 12 avril 1887, à Oka, Québec. Après avoir travaillé comme bûcheron, Roussin s’est enrôlé dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien (CEC) le 16 juillet 1915, à Ottawa.

Roussin a d’abord servi à Ottawa avec le nouveau 77e Bataillon d’infanterie canadienne avant d’être transféré au 38e Bataillon le 6 décembre 1915. Ce bataillon a servi dans la garnison des Bermudes. Le 26 janvier 1916, Roussin s’est joint aux rangs du 69e Bataillon d’infanterie qui s’est embarquée pour l’Angleterre le 17 avril 1916. Finalement, le 27 août 1916, Roussin fut transféré au 22e Bataillon.

Le 15 août 1917, le premier jour de la bataille de la côte 70 située près de Lens en France, Roussin qui servait à titre d’éclaireur a mérité sa Médaille militaire pour avoir réussi une attaque solo contre huit soldats ennemis. Après avoir attaqué et tué cinq soldats allemands, il est revenu avec trois prisonniers et une entaille au bras causée par une baïonnette ennemie. Heureusement, la blessure s’est cicatrisée et il est retourné au combat un mois plus tard.

Dans l’histoire du bataillon, le soldat Roussin figure parmi ceux ayant subi le plus de blessures dans le Régiment :

Dans la hutte de l’aumônier … voici un autre blessé qui vient se faire panser. Il a reçu une balle au poignet. C’est un des éclaireurs du 22e, Roussin, un Indien, l’homme le plus de fois blessé du régiment et, peut-être de l’armée britannique, car, à la suite de cette déchirure, il pourra porter un neuvième galon de blessure. D’ailleurs, aussitôt pansé, il retourne à son poste; il commence à s’habituer!

Roussin a été blessé neuf fois durant son service au front, mais il a survécu à la guerre et est revenu au Canada à la fin de 1918.

Lectures complémentaires

  • Anciens Combattants Canada. Soldats autochtones : Terres étrangères. [Ottawa]: Anciens Combattants Canada, 2005. Consulté le 8 mars 2016
  • Bibliothèque et Archives Canada. Soldats de la Première Guerre mondiale : 1914-1918. Document d’attestation de Joseph Roussin. Consulté le 8 mars 2016
  • Bibliothèque et Archives Canada. Soldats de la Première Guerre mondiale : 1914-1918. Document d’attestation de William Cleary Consulté le 8 mars 2016
Notice biographique
Nom et prénom Cleary, William (Willie)
Nation Montagnais
Nom de bande Montagnais du Lac St-Jean
Lieu de bande Mashteuiatsh, QC
Date de naissance 1897-06-03
Lieu de naissance Pointe-Bleue, PQ
Proche parent Mother: Marguerite Cleary
Métier avant l’inscription Labourer
Religion Roman Catholic
Conflit WWI
Numéro de service 672469
Dossiers de service http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/first-world-war-1914-1918-cef/Pages/list.aspx?k=RegimentNum%3a%22672469%22
Unité du CEC 22e Bataillon canadien-français
Grade militaire Private
Date d’inscription 1916-03-24
Lieu d’inscription Chicoutimi, PQ
Âge au moment de l’inscription 19
Décorations décernées (MM)
Identificateur 9082