Longboat, Thomas (Tom) Charles

Thomas Charles (Tom) Longboat did not receive any awards for bravery. He was not killed in the thick of battle while performing a daring feat above and beyond the call of duty. Rather, he is an example of the selfless response of so many Canadians to the chaos spreading throughout Europe.

Longboat (his native Onondaga name was Cogwagee) was born on July 4th, 1886, at Ohsweken, a village on the Six Nations of the Grand River First Nation Indian reserve near Brantford, Ontario. When he was a child, a Mohawk resident of the reserve, Bill Davis who finished second in the 1901 Boston Marathon, got him interested in marathon running. Four years later, Longboat was to finish second in the Victoria Day race at Caledonia, Ontario. This was the beginning of a long career as a professional runner. He went on to become one of the most celebrated pre-WWI athletes after winning several marathons, including the Boston Marathon (1907) and the World’s Professional Marathon Championship (1909), and breaking numerous records. By the time WWI began, his running had earned him what could be considered a small fortune in those days.

But mounting casualties in France were putting increasing pressure on able-bodied Canadian men to join the forces. Since 1911, Longboat had been affiliated with the 37th Battalion, which was a militia unit based in Haldimand, Ontario. Married to Loretta Maracle since 1908, he did not immediately decide to volunteer for overseas duty. But then, at the age of 29, he set aside his athletic career, took the oath of service in Brantford on 17 February 1916 and joined the 180th Sportsmen’s Battalion which was engaged in recruiting volunteers with athletic backgrounds. Longboat’s athletic skills were soon put to the service of Canada’s official recruiting propaganda, his main contribution being his ability to run at an elite level.

Longboat and his battalion were shipped out to England in early November 1916. In January 1917, his battalion was transferred to the 3rd Reserve Battalion, and then, in February 1917, he and some of the original Sportsmen were re-assigned to the newly formed 107th Pioneer Battalion. This battalion developed a formidable running team intended to maintain troop morale, which was essential given the appalling casualties suffered in the trenches. Composed of just 905 men, the 107th Battalion’s running team forged a distinguished running reputation in the British Expeditionary Force.

But, of course, the main purpose of the 107th Pioneers Battalion was not running, but engineering and labor. Typical activities in France included digging and repairing trenches, constructing dugouts or shelters, hauling ammunition, burying telephone cables, erecting and repairing barbed wire fences, building roads and mule tracks, laying tracks for light railroads to connect the front with rear area supply depots, and building plank roads so that artillery could be pulled forward through mud and other obstacles. Because of the nearly constant scrutiny of German observers, heavy artillery and chemical warfare, much of this work was done wearing gas masks during the relative safety of night.

Much of what happened on the battlefields can be explained by poor communications. Telephones were widely used in the trenches, but wires were often cut during battles by enemy bombardments. Radios existed, but these were not yet portable or reliable enough to be carried into battle. As a result, troops in battle were often cut off from their commanders. To bridge this communications gap, armies were forced to rely on old fashioned and unreliable means such as carrier pigeons and messengers. And as a Pioneer, Longboat’s skills were put to good use by running messages in the trenches, carrying them between units, especially when his unit was at the front. Couriers such as Longboat had to run through mud, poison gas, bombs and shells, often at night, while coping with the loss of friends and comrades.

The 107th suffered its first combat casualties near Vimy Ridge on 4 April 1917, when a German artillery bombardment killed three men, seriously wounded five and slightly wounded two. But the 107th’s casualty lists steadily and inevitably mounted, as did the stress and homesickness felt by its soldiers. Longboat’s unit was particularly hit hard in the Canadian victory at the battle of Hill 70 (Lens, 15-25 August 1917). The 107th’s next major engagement was the Canadian assault on the infamous Passchendaele Ridge, where Longboat and his comrades worked on the lines of communication and built emplacements for the artillery from mid-October to mid-November 1917.

While the war was raging elsewhere, the 107th was broken up on 28 May 1918 as part of a Canadian Corps reorganization, and Longboat was transferred with many of his comrades to the 2nd Battalion Canadian Engineers, which was part of the elite 1st Canadian Division. Soon afterwards, he was engaged in probably the most dangerous phase of his military career. Between August 8 and November 11, the British Expeditionary Force engaged in a victorious advance known as “the Hundred Days”. The Canadians spearheaded this drive and were engaged in nearly continuous fighting at a staggering cost of 45,830 casualties.

As part of the 1st Canadian Division, Longboat and the 2nd Battalion Canadian Engineers followed behind the advancing infantry and were responsible for all the types of work the Pioneers had done, as well as bridge building, repairing water wells and salvaging captured German supplies. As a courier in this unit, Longboat found himself much closer to the front for longer periods of time than ever before. One of the highlights of this period was the battle of Amiens on August 8-12, the “black day of the German Army”, in which Longboat’s unit worked with tanks to haul bridge-building supplies forward. Later, between September 27 and October 1, the Engineers took part in one of the most complex military attacks of the war, when the Canadian Corps successfully breached the Canal du Nord, a key part of the formidable German Hindenburg line.

Longboat was one of the fortunate soldiers who successfully emerged physically unscathed from the war. Numerous sources state that he had been wounded twice, but this was not the case. Longboat’s personnel dossier indicates that he received medical attention twice during his enlistment, but not for combat related wounds. On one of these occasions, he was diagnosed with myalgia of the knee, a condition aggravated by life in the trenches but not deemed serious enough to warrant special treatment. But, in spite of the doctor's’ analysis, it does appear that Longboat’s short post-war running career was hindered by knee and back pains.

Upon Longboat’s return to Toronto in May 1919, he discovered that his wife Loretta had remarried in 1918 after twice receiving news of his death. A divorce followed allowing Loretta to remain married to her new husband and Longboat later married Martha Silversmith with whom he had four children. He lived and worked in Toronto as a steelworker and street cleaner until 1944, when he retired to the Six Nations Reserve. He died there of pneumonia on January 9, 1949.

In the sporting world, Longboat’s legacy is rather more impressive. In 1951, Jan Eisenhardt instituted the Tom Longboat Award which annually honours outstanding First Nations athletes and sportsmen in each province. Longboat was inducted into both Canada's Sports Hall of Fame (1955) and the Indian Hall of Fame, as well as into the Ontario Sports Hall of Fame (1996). He is also commemorated annually by the Toronto Island 10 km race.

Further Reading

  • Bruce Kidd. “Tom Longboat” in The Canadian Encyclopedia. Retrieved March 7, 2016
  • Bruce Kidd. Tom Longboat. Don Mills, Ont.: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 1980
  • Jack Batten. The man who ran faster than everyone: the story of Tom Longboat . Toronto: Tundra Books, 2002
  • Robert K. Hanks. Tom Longboat and the First World War. Published on the site: Longboat Roadrunners.
  • Suzy Botica. To run like wildfire : the story of Tom Longboat and the race to be world champion. Toronto: Scholastic Canada. 2009.
  • Veterans Affairs Canada. Native Soldiers, Foreign Battlefields. [Ottawa]: Veterans Affairs Canada, 2005. Retrieved March 7, 2016
  • Will Cardinal. Tom Longboat : running against the wind : a First Nations Canadian conquers the world's marathons. [Edmonton]: Eschia Books, 2008
Biographical Record
Full Name Longboat, Thomas (Tom) Charles
Also Known As Longboat, Thomas Charles
Heritage Onondaga
Band Location Onondaga, ON
Birth Date 1886-07-04
Birthplace Brant County, ON
Date of Death 1949-01-01
Next of Kin Wife: Mrs. Loretta Longboat
Married before Enlistment Yes
Occupation before Enlistment Professional Runner
Biographical Notes Longboat had a compelling reason not to enlist: he was a world champion long distance runner. In 1907, he won the Boston Marathon (approx. 40 kms) in record time, with his closest competitor four-fifths of a km behind him. In 1909, he won the world professional marathon championships at Madison Square Garden in NYC.His running earned him thousands of dollars. But he set this all aside in Feb. 1916 when he volunteered to enlist. Cf Native soldiers, Foreign battlefields, p. 16, He was a member of the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame and the Indian Hall of Fame
Religion Church of England
Conflict WWI, WWII
Service Number 862805
Service Files http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/first-world-war-1914-1918-cef/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=536020
CEF Unit 107th Pioneer Bn, W.W.II Veterans Guard
Date of Enlistment 1916-02-17
Location of Enlistment Brantford, ON
Age at Enlistment 29
Identifier 8428

Longboat, Thomas (Tom) Charles

Thomas Charles (Tom) Longboat n’a reçu aucune décoration pour bravoure. Il n’a pas été tué au cœur d’une bataille en accomplissant une action héroïque bien au-delà des exigences de son devoir. Il est plutôt l’exemple de l’abnégation dont firent preuve tant de Canadiens face au chaos qui s’est répandu à travers l’Europe.

Longboat, un Onondaga (son nom amérindien était Cogwagee), est né le 4 juillet 1886, à Ohsweken, un village des Six Nations situé sur la réserve Grand River, près de Brantford, Ontario. Lorsqu’il était enfant, un résident mohawk de la réserve, Bill Davis, qui avait terminé deuxième au marathon de Boston en 1901, éveilla son intérêt pour ce sport. Quatre ans plus tard, Longboat devait terminer en deuxième place dans la course Victoria tenue à Caledonia, Ontario. Cette course marqua le début d’une longue carrière en tant que coureur professionnel. Il allait par la suite devenir l’un des athlètes les plus célèbres de la période d’avant la Première Guerre mondiale après avoir remporté plusieurs marathons, y compris le marathon de Boston (1907) et le championnat mondial de marathon professionnel (1909), et fracassé de nombreux records. À l’aube de la Première Guerre mondiale, ses exploits lui avait permis d’accumuler l’équivalent d’une belle petite fortune pour l’époque.

Mais le nombre de plus en plus élevé des pertes en France a exercé une pression croissante sur les hommes valides du Canada pour qu’ils se joignent aux rangs de l’armée. Depuis 1911, Longboat faisait partie du 37e Bataillon, une unité de milice basée à Haldimand, Ontario. Marié à Loretta Maracle depuis 1908, il tarda à se porter volontaire pour le service outre-mer. Mais, à l’âge de 29 ans, il abandonna sa carrière d’athlète pour s’enrôler le 17 février 1916 à Brantford. Il intégra les rangs du 180e Bataillon (Sportsmens) qui recrutait des volontaires possédant des aptitudes athlétiques. Les qualités athlétiques de Longboat ont rapidement été mises au profit de la propagande officielle du Canada pour favoriser le recrutement. Sa principale contribution fut sa capacité de participer à des courses de haut niveau.

Longboat et son bataillon se sont embarqués pour l’Angleterre au début de novembre 1916. En janvier 1917, son bataillon fut transféré au 3e Bataillon de réserve puis, en février 1917, lui et quelques-uns des athlètes de son ancien bataillon (Sportsmens) ont rejoint les rangs du 107e Bataillon des pionniers nouvellement formé. Ce bataillon a développé une formidable équipe de coureurs destinée à maintenir le moral des troupes, une tâche essentielle vu les pertes effroyables subies dans les tranchées. Composée de seulement 905 hommes, l’équipe de course du 107e Bataillon s’est forgé une solide réputation au sein du Corps expéditionnaire britannique.

Mais la principale mission du 107e Bataillon des pionniers en France n’était évidemment pas la course, mais plutôt l’ingénierie et les travaux. Ses activités typiques en France consistaient, entre autres, à creuser et réparer des tranchées, à construire des abris souterrains, à transporter des munitions, à ensevelir des câbles téléphoniques, à ériger et à réparer des clôtures de fil barbelé, à construire des routes et des pistes pour les mulets, à poser des voies pour les chemins de fer légers afin de relier le front aux dépôts de ravitaillement situés à l’arrière des lignes, et à construire des routes de planches pour acheminer l’artillerie à travers la boue et autres obstacles. En raison de la surveillance presque constante des observateurs allemands, de l’artillerie lourde et du recours aux armes chimiques, la majorité de ces travaux étaient effectués la nuit par des soldats portant des masques à gaz.

Une bonne partie de ce qui s’est passé sur les champs de bataille peut s’expliquer par la médiocrité des communications. Les téléphones étaient utilisés dans les tranchées, mais les lignes étaient souvent coupées durant les combats suite aux bombardements ennemis. Les radios existaient mais celles-ci n’étaient pas encore portables ni assez fiables pour être utilisées sur les champs de bataille. Aussi, les communications entre les troupes au front et leurs commandants étaient souvent rompues. Pour remédier à cette situation, les armées devaient recourir à des méthodes anciennes et aléatoires comme les pigeons voyageurs et les messagers. Et, à titre de Pionnier, les compétences de Longboat ont été mises à profit puisque l’on fit appel à lui pour transporter les messages entre les tranchées et les unités, surtout lorsque son unité se trouvait au front. Les estafettes comme Longboat devaient souvent courir la nuit, dans la boue, à travers les gaz toxiques, les bombes et les obus, tout en devant composer avec la perte d’amis et de compagnons d’armes.

Le 107e a subi ses premières pertes lors de la bataille à proximité de la crête de Vimy le 4 avril 1917 lorsqu’un bombardement de l’artillerie allemande a tué trois hommes, en a blessé cinq autres sérieusement et deux légèrement. Puis la liste des pertes du 107e s’est constamment et inévitablement allongée, ainsi que le stress et le mal du pays. L’unité de Longboat fut particulièrement touchée lors de la victoire des Canadiens à la bataille de la côte 70 (Lens, 15-25 août 1917). Le 107e a ensuite participé à la grande bataille tristement célèbre de Passchendaele, où Longboat et ses compagnons ont, entre la mi-octobre et la mi-novembre 1917, travaillé sur les lignes de communication et construit des emplacements pour l’artillerie.

Alors que la guerre faisait rage ailleurs, le 107e Bataillon a été démantelé le 28 mai 1918 lors de la réorganisation du Corps canadien. Longboat et plusieurs de ses compagnons ont été transférés au 2e Bataillon canadien (ingénieurs) qui faisait partie de la 1re Division canadienne reconnue comme une force d’élite. Peu après, il a participé aux missions sans doute les plus dangereuses de sa carrière militaire. Entre le 8 août et le 11 novembre, le Corps expéditionnaire britannique a mené une offensive victorieuse connue sous le nom des « Cent jours ». Les Canadiens, les fers de lance de cette bataille, furent impliqués dans des combats quasi incessants ayant entraîné la perte de 45,830 hommes.

En tant que partie intégrante de la 1re Division, Longboat et le 2e Bataillon canadien (ingénieurs) suivaient l’artillerie en marche. Ils étaient responsables de tous les types de travaux exécutés par les anciens Pionniers, en plus de devoir construire des ponts, réparer les puits d’eau et récupérer les provisions saisies aux Allemands. En qualité d’estafette de son unité, Longboat s’est retrouvé beaucoup plus près du front et plus longtemps que jamais auparavant. L’un des points saillants de cette période fut la bataille d’Amiens qui s’est déroulée du 8 au 12 août, le « jour de deuil de l’Armée allemande ». L’unité de Longboat a travaillé avec des chars pour traîner les matériaux nécessaires à la construction des ponts. Plus tard, entre le 27 septembre et le 1er octobre, les ingénieurs ont participé à l’une des attaques les plus complexes de la guerre, lorsque le Corps canadien a réussi à pratiquer une brèche dans le canal du Nord, l’élément clé de la redoutable ligne de défense allemande Hindenburg.

Longboat compte parmi les soldats chanceux ayant survécu à la guerre sans séquelles physiques. Plusieurs sources mentionnent qu’il avait été blessé deux fois durant son service. Dans les faits, le dossier personnel de Longboat indique qu’il a reçu des soins médicaux à deux reprises pour des raisons non liées au combat. Dans l’un de ces cas, il a reçu un diagnostic de myalgie au genou, une condition aggravée par son séjour dans les tranchées, mais jugée insuffisamment sérieuse pour nécessiter un traitement spécial. Mais, malgré le diagnostic du médecin, il semblerait qu’après la guerre, Longboat ait dû rapidement mettre fin à sa carrière de coureur à cause des douleurs qu’il ressentait au genou et au dos.

Lors de son retour à Toronto en mai 1919, Longboat a découvert que son épouse Loretta s’était remariée en 1918 après avoir été avisée de son décès à deux reprises. Après le divorce qui a permis Loretta de rester avec son nouveau conjoint, Longboat a éventuellement épousé Martha Silversmith avec qui il a eu quatre enfants. Il a vécu et travaillé à Toronto comme sidérurgiste, puis comme balayeur de rue jusqu’en 1944. Il s’est par la suite retiré sur la réserve des Six Nations où il est mort d’une pneumonie le 9 janvier 1949.

Dans le monde du sport, l’héritage de Longboat est sensiblement plus impressionnant. En 1951, Jan Eisenhardt a créé le prix Tom Longboat, lequel est décerné annuellement dans chaque province à des sportifs et à des athlètes remarquables des Premières Nations. Longboat a été intronisé tant dans le Temple de la renommée des sports du Canada (1955) que dans le Temple de la renommée des Indiens du Canada, ainsi que dans le Temple de la renommée des sports de l’Ontario (1996). Il est également commémoré chaque année lors de la course de 10 km autour de l’île de Toronto.

Lectures complémentaires

  • Anciens Combattants Canada. Soldats autochtones: Terres étrangères. [Ottawa]: Anciens Combattants Canada, 2005. Consulté March 7, 2016
  • Bruce Kidd. “Tom Longboat” dans Encyclopédie canadienne. Consulté le 7 mars 2016
  • Bruce Kidd. Tom Longboat. Don Mills, Ont.: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 1980
  • Jack Batten. The man who ran faster than everyone: the story of Tom Longboat . Toronto: Tundra Books, 2002
  • Robert K. Hanks. Tom Longboat and the First World War. Publié sur le site: Longboat Roadrunners.
  • Suzy Botica. To run like wildfire : the story of Tom Longboat and the race to be world champion. Toronto: Scholastic Canada. 2009.
  • Will Cardinal. Tom Longboat : running against the wind : a First Nations Canadian conquers the world's marathons. [Edmonton]: Eschia Books, 2008.
Notice biographique
Nom et prénom Longboat, Thomas (Tom) Charles
Aussi connu comme Longboat, Thomas Charles
Nation Onondaga
Lieu de bande Onondaga, ON
Date de naissance 1886-07-04
Lieu de naissance Brant County, ON
Date de décès 1949-01-01
Proche parent Wife: Mrs. Loretta Longboat
Marié avant l’inscription Yes
Métier avant l’inscription Professional Runner
Notes biographiques Longboat had a compelling reason not to enlist: he was a world champion long distance runner. In 1907, he won the Boston Marathon (approx. 40 kms) in record time, with his closest competitor four-fifths of a km behind him. In 1909, he won the world professional marathon championships at Madison Square Garden in NYC.His running earned him thousands of dollars. But he set this all aside in Feb. 1916 when he volunteered to enlist. Cf Native soldiers, Foreign battlefields, p. 16, He was a member of the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame and the Indian Hall of Fame
Religion Church of England
Conflit WWI, WWII
Numéro de service 862805
Dossiers de service http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/first-world-war-1914-1918-cef/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=536020
Unité du CEC 107th Pioneer Bn, W.W.II Veterans Guard
Date d’inscription 1916-02-17
Lieu d’inscription Brantford, ON
Âge au moment de l’inscription 29
Identificateur 8428