Boyer, Louis

Source

Louis Boyer was a Metis born in Winnipeg, Manitoba, on November 13, 1885.

In 1916, Boyer, now aged 30, lived with his wife Sarah in Stonewall, Manitoba, where he was working as a labourer. On March 18th of that year, he decided to enlist with the 107th Battalion (Winnipeg), an infantry battalion of the Canadian Expeditionary Force which had been authorized on November 4th, 1915. The battalion recruited in, and was mobilized at Winnipeg, and embarked for Britain on September 19, 1916. The battalion served in France and Flanders as the 107th Pioneer Battalion. For his part, Boyer served as a sapper at Ypres, Vimy and Passchendaele. He was honourably discharged in May 1919, in Winnipeg.

Though, at the time, Status Indians were banned from Legions because they served alcohol, Boyer eventually worked as a bartender at the Royal Canadian Legion Branch in Stonewall. This legion is a not-for-profit organisation self-funded by its members for the good of Canada’s veterans and communities.

His children would sometimes ask him why his nose was crooked and his answer was that “A bullet bounced off his nose and killed the man standing beside him.” Not everyone believed that story, though. He also told his family that his feet were never dry in the trenches and that he carried a cross around in the trenches and that it had saved his life.

In September 1942, Boyer enlisted once again with the Veterans Guard of Canada. He was now 58 years old. He first served as a guard at a prisoner-of-war camp located in Seebe, Alberta. This camp operated from September 29, 1939 to January 28, 1946 and had a capacity of 200 prisoners. He also seems to have served as a guard at a German prisoner-of-war camp in British Columbia. Boyer died in 1974.

Three of his sons also served during the Second World War, one of which was made a prisoner by the Germans. At the age of 20, his eldest son, John, enlisted in an armored car regiment in 1941 and was later transferred to the No. 1 Garrison Battalion. A second son, Albert, also enlisted in an armored car regiment in September 1943 and was stationed in Brampton, Ontario. He was 18 year when he enlisted. Finally, Arthur, the youngest at age 16, jointed the reserved army in 1943. All returned home safely after the war.

Further reading

Photos

Source

Biographical Record
Full Name Boyer, Louis
Heritage Métis
Band Location Stonewall, MB (also Winnipeg)
Birth Date 1885-11-13
Birthplace Winnipeg, MB
Next of Kin Wife: Sarah Boyer
Married before Enlistment Married
Occupation before Enlistment Labourer
Religion Roman Catholic
Conflict WWI
Service Number 718825
Service Files http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/first-world-war-1914-1918-cef/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=58952
CEF Unit 107th Bn
Date of Enlistment 1916-03-18
Location of Enlistment Winnipeg, MB
Age at Enlistment 31
Identifier 6335

Boyer, Louis

Source

Louis Boyer était un Métis du Manitoba. Il est né le 13 novembre 1885 à Winnipeg.

En 1916, Boyer, maintenant âgé de 30 ans, vivait avec son épouse Sarah à Stonewall, Manitoba, où il travaillait comme journalier. Le 18 mars de cette année, il a décidé de s’enrôler dans le 107e Bataillon (Winnipeg), un bataillon d’infanterie du Corps expéditionnaire canadien. Ce bataillon avait été mobilisé le 4 novembre 1915 et recrutait dans cette même ville. Il s’est embarqué pour l’Angleterre le 19 septembre 1916. Rebaptisé le 107e Bataillon des Pionniers, son bataillon a servi en France et dans les Flandres. Pour sa part, Boyer a servi comme sapeur à Ypres, à Vimy et à Passchendaele. Il a été démobilisé avec honneur à Winnipeg en mai 1919.

Bien qu’à l’époque, les Indiens inscrits soient exclus des Légions parce qu’on y servait de l’alcool, Boyer a éventuellement trouver de l’emploi comme barman de la filiale de Stonewall de la Légion royale canadienne. Cette légion est une organisation sans but lucratif et autofinancée par ses membres pour le bien des anciens combattants et des communautés du Canada.

Ses enfants lui demandaient parfois pourquoi il avait le nez crochu et il répondait toujours « qu’une balle avait rebondi sur son nez tuant l’homme qui se tenait à ses côtés ». Il va sans dire que plusieurs mettaient en doute la véracité de cette histoire. Il avait également raconté à sa famille qu’il n’avait jamais eu les pieds au sec dans les tranchées, qu’il portait toujours une croix avec lui dans les tranchées et que celle-ci lui avait sauvé la vie.

En septembre 1942, Boyer s’est enrôlé de nouveau avec la Garde des anciens combattants du Canada. Il avait alors 58 ans. Il a d’abord servi comme gardien dans un camp de prisonniers de guerre situé à Seebe, Alberta. Ce camp d’une capacité de 200 prisonniers fut en opération de septembre 29, 1939 au 28 janvier 1946. Il semblerait qu’il ait aussi servi comme gardien dans un camp de prisonniers de guerre en Colombie-Britannique. Boyer est décédé en 1974.

Trois de ses fils ont également servi durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, dont un fut fait prisonnier par les Allemands. John, son fils aîné, s’est enrôlé en 1941 à l’âge de 20 ans dans un régiment de véhicules blindés. Il fut par la suite transféré au Bataillon de garnison no 1. Un deuxième fils, Albert, s’est aussi enrôlé dans un régiment de véhicules blindés en septembre 1943 et fut affecté à Brampton, Ontario. Il avait 18 ans au moment de son enrôlement. Enfin, le plus jeune de ses fils, Arthur, a joint les rangs de l’armée de réserve en 1943 alors qu’il n’avait que 16 ans. Tous sont revenus au foyer sains et saufs après la guerre.

Lectures complémentaires

Photos

Source

Notice biographique
Nom et prénom Boyer, Louis
Nation Métis
Lieu de bande Stonewall, MB (also Winnipeg)
Date de naissance 1885-11-13
Lieu de naissance Winnipeg, MB
Proche parent Wife: Sarah Boyer
Marié avant l’inscription Married
Métier avant l’inscription Labourer
Religion Roman Catholic
Conflit WWI
Numéro de service 718825
Dossiers de service http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/first-world-war-1914-1918-cef/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=58952
Unité du CEC 107th Bn
Date d’inscription 1916-03-18
Lieu d’inscription Winnipeg, MB
Âge au moment de l’inscription 31
Identificateur 6335