Paudash, Johnson

The Paudash family. Source

The Paudash Family

Johnson Paudash and his younger brother George were born and raised on the Hiawatha First Nations reserve located on the north shore of Rice Lake, just southeast of Peterborough, Ontario. Johnson was born on January 29, 1875, while George was born on July 20, 1890. Johnson and George were from a distinguished Ojibwe family of chiefs and warriors that stretched back several generations. Their great grandfather, George “Cheneebeesh” Paudash, fought in the Revolutionary war alongside the British in 1774-75 and then again in the Battle of Crysler’s Farm on November 11, 1813, during the Anglo-American War of 1812. He died in 1869, at the age of 104, the last Sachem or Head Chief of all the Mississaugas. Their grandfather, Mosang Paudash, trained for battle in the Mackenzie Rebellion in Upper Canada (1836-1837). He was also the last hereditary Chief of the tribe of Mississaugas situated at Rice Lake. He died in 1893 at the age of 75. And their father, Robert Paudash, Chief of the Mississaugas at Pamadusgodayond, trained to guard against the Fenian raids (1866-1871). In the language of the Ojibwe, the word “Paudash” means “Crane”.

Much of the content of this article comes from research done by Johnson’s grandson, Brian Paudash.

Johnson Paudash was a personal friend of Sir Sam Hughes, the Minister of Militia and Defense during the First World War. Recognizing his ability as a marksman, Hughes talked Johnson into joining the newly formed 21st Battalion of the Canadian Expeditionary Force. When the war began, both brothers were married and lived in Hiawatha where George worked as a tinsmith and Johnson as a farmer. They enlisted within one week of each other in Kingston, in November 1914, and joined the 21st Battalion as privates. Prior to his enlistment in the CEF, George had served one year in the 40th Regiment in nearby Cobourg, Ontario.

After training in Kingston, they boarded a train to Montreal where they embarked on the SS Metagama on May 6, 1915, and sailed to England. Upon their arrival on May 15, they proceeded to the West Sandling Camp in Saltwood, Kent. Here, soldiers of the CEF and other allied British forces underwent harsh training in ‘Entrenchment’ at Tolsford Hill before being sent to the front line in France. This training consisted in the digging of practice trenches and “going over the top”. George was promoted to Lance Corporal on June 6, 1915, while Johnson was promoted to the same rank one month later. Sailing from Folkestone to Boulogne, France, on September 14, the 21st Battalion became the first to cross the English Channel in broad daylight. Their battalion was to fight in France for the remainder of the war.

Johnson soon became one of the top snipers of the First World War. Ironically, he is often referred to as the “Gentle Sniper”, someone who was very wise and very calm. He didn’t speak often but when he did, people would listen.

Shortly after his landing in Boulogne, Johnson was sent to Messines where on September 22, he received a shotgun wound in the right thigh. After recuperating from this wound, he rejoined his unit south of Ypres in Belgium. It was here that Johnson showed the skills required to be a sniper. From the start he was singled out as a sniper and scout, accounting for 42 Germans which he recorded on the stock of his Ross rifle. He was also noted as a forward observer and had a native talent for slipping perilously close to the enemy trenches without detection. High ranking generals were often put in his care for tours of the front line in France and Belgium.

But, by early 1918, he was getting on in age. His eyesight was no longer as accurate and he was suffering from shortness of breath as well as pain and stiffness in his shoulder and both hips and knees due to shrapnel, bayonet and gunshot wounds received during his wartime service. Considered as no longer fully capable of carrying on with duties in the field, he was reverted to the permanent rank of Private in February 1918 and posted to the Eastern Ontario Regimental Depot at Seaford, England, before being briefly attached to the 6th Reserve Battalion. Having been declared “fit for base duty” only, Johnson embarked at Liverpool for Canada on May 13. He was finally discharged from the Army at Kingston, Ontario, on July 9, 1918.

Johnson was awarded several medals, including the Mons Star (for being part of a unit that came under exceptional fire in a short period of time) and the Allied Medal for service. He received another medal for giving information that the enemy was massing at Hill 70 (August 1917) for a counter-attack, which took place just 25 minutes after he made his report. His timely warning saved many lives. He was also recommended for the Distinguished Conduct Medal in recognition of having saved the life of an officer in the Battle of the Somme. In April 1918, he was awarded another Military Medal for bravery in the Field. On January 26, 1918, when our trenches were being heavily bombarded, Johnson maintained his post and continued to snipe various targets disregardful of danger. Johnson was presented to King George VI and Queen Elizabeth when they visited Canada in 1939.

After the war, Johnson settled in Lindsay, Ontario, and gladly went back to civilian life, serving as a rural mail carrier in the Lindsay area for 25 years before later moving to the Durham region. He also became a First Nations Chief and advocated for the needs of his people in various diplomatic roles. He died at his home in Brougham on October 26, 1959, at the age of 84 and is buried in the Riverside Cemetery, Lindsay.

His brother George’s military experience at the front unfolded quite differently. George served in the machine gun section of his battalion and was promoted to Corporal on December 26, 1915. However, on July 10, 1916, he was admitted to the 4th Canadian Field Ambulance (CFA) then transferred to No 5 CFA with acute appendicitis. He was to spend the following months in casualty clearing stations, convalescence depots and hospitals after being diagnosed with various chronic illnesses and nervous strain from front line service. Although little is known of is actions at the front in France, George was a recipient of both the British War Medal and the Victory Medal. Having been invalidated to Canada at the beginning of January 1917, he arrived in Montreal on February 13. He then spent several months as an outpatient at the Elmhurst and Ongwanada Hospitals in Kingston, and was finally discharged from the CEF on October 26, 1917.

After the war, George returned to the Hiawatha reserve where he worked as a guide and became Chief of the band of Mississaugas there. He also served in the Veterans Guard of Canada during the Second World War.

George died in August 1969 and is laid to rest in the Hiawatha Cemetery alongside his wife Margaret Anderson (1893-1966), and his son Herman (1918-1935). The name of his son Elmer Robert (1920-1942) is also engraved on the tombstone even though his body lies elsewhere in unknown grounds. Flight Sergeant Elmer Robert Paudash enlisted with the Royal Canadian Air Force one week before Christmas 1940. At flight school, he learned Morse code and finished in the top three of his graduating class. He went on to become a wireless operator and air machine gunner and was shipped to England where he was assigned to the Royal Air Force Bomber Command. For safety, he and his fellow pilots would fly at night, a thousand planes at a time taking off from all the airfields along the English Channel. On each mission, about 200 of those aircraft wouldn’t make it back. He was part of the 115th Squadron which had the mission of dropping mines in the North Sea in order to stop German ships and subs sailing near England. He was listed as killed in action on September 21, 1942, when his Wellington aircraft went missing during a mine-laying operation. His name appears on Panel 106 of the Commonwealth Air Forces Runnymede Memorial in Surry, England. This Memorial records the names of 20,285 airmen who were lost during the war and who have no known graves. Elmer was the recipient of the 1939-45 Star Medal, the Air Crew Europe Star Medal, the Defence Medal, the Canadian Volunteer Service Medal and the Clasp and War Medal 1939-45. He was also posthumously awarded the RCAF Operational Wings in recognition of gallant service in action against the enemy on February 27, 1947.

Another of George’s sons, George Reginald Jr., also served during WW2. He was born on May 16, 1914, so shortly before George himself enlisted. George Reginald served as a Sergeant in Northwest Europe, participating in the D-Day invasion, with the Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry Highlanders, a Primary Reserve Infantry Regiment of the Canadian Army. After the war, he succeeded his father as Chief of the Rice Lake Mississauga Band for many years. He died on November 29, 1982, and is buried in the Hiawatha Reserve Cemetery.

Further reading

Photos

George Paudash. Source

Johnson Paudash. Source

Biographical Record
Full Name Paudash, Johnson
Heritage Ojibwa
Band Name Hiawatha First Nation
Band Location ON
Birth Date 1875-01-29
Birthplace Hiawatha, ON
Date of Death 1959-10-26
Next of Kin Wife: Florence Paudash
Married before Enlistment Married
Occupation before Enlistment Farmer
Biographical Notes Paudash is officially credited with killing 88 enemy soldiers. C.f. Annual Report of the Department of Indian Affairs for the year ended March 31 1919.
Religion Other
Conflict WWI, WWII
Service Number 59779
Service Files http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/first-world-war-1914-1918-cef/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=569979
CEF Unit 21st Bn
Rank A/Cpl.
Date of Enlistment 1914-11-11
Location of Enlistment Kingston, ON
Age at Enlistment 39
Service History sniper, WWII Veterans Guard
Medical History 1915-09-22
Age at death 84
Burial location Riverside Cemetery, Lindsay, ON
Medals http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/military-medals-1812-1969/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=87935&
Medal awarded (MM)
Date Medal is awarded 1918-04-10
Medal notes Citation reads:For gallantry and devotion to duty. On 26th January 1918, when our trenches were heavily bombarded, Pte Paudash maintained his post and continued to snipe disregardful of danger. Seeing a Hun observing the effect of the Trench Mortars he shot him and continued sniping at various targets while they presented themselves. during his 29 months service in France Pte Paudash has sniped 42 Huns. AFW 3121 27-2-18
Other links http://21stbattalion.ca/tributeos/paudash_j.html
Photo http://21stbattalion.ca/tributeos/paudash_j.html
Veterans’ Land Grants reference number 1955-1965 (LAC RG10-B-3-e-xvi)
Identifier 5595

Paudash, Johnson

La famille Paudash. Source

La famille Paudash

Johnson Paudash et son jeune frère George sont nées et ont grandi sur la réserve de la Première Nation de Hiawatha située sur la rive nord du lac Rice, au sud-est de Peterborough, Ontario. Johnson est né le 29 janvier 1875 alors que George est né le 20 juillet 1890. Johnson et George étaient issus d’une famille distinguée de chefs et de guerriers Ojibwés qui remonte à plusieurs générations. Leur arrière-grand-père, George « Cheneebeesh » Paudash, s’est battu du côté des Anglais durant la Guerre de l’Indépendance américaine de 1774-1775, puis de nouveau durant la guerre anglo-américaine de 1812 quand il a participé à la bataille de Crysler’s Farm le 11 novembre 1813. Au moment de son décès en 1869 à l’âge de 104 ans, il était le dernier sachem ou grand chef de tous les Mississaugas. Leur grand-père, Mosang Paudash, s’est entraîné au combat au moment où la rébellion de Mackenzie faisait rage dans le Haut-Canada (1836-1837). Il fut également le dernier chef héréditaire de la tribu des Mississaugas située sur le lac Rice. Il est mort en 1893 à l’âge de 75 ans. Quant à leur père, Robert Paudash, chef des Mississaugas à Pamadusgodayond, il s’est entraîné pour défendre le pays contre les raids de Feniens (1866-1871). Dans la langue des Ojibwés, le mot « paudash » signifie « grue ».

Une grande partie du contenu de cet article provient des recherches effectuées par Brian Paudash, le petit-fils de Johnson.

Johnson Paudash était un ami personnel de sir Sam Hughes, le ministre de la Milice et de la défense durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Reconnaissant ses qualités de tireur, Hughes a encouragé Johnson à se joindre au nouveau 21e Bataillon du Corps expéditionnaire canadien. Lors du déclenchement de la guerre, les deux frères étaient mariés et vivaient à Hiawatha où George travaillait comme ferblantier et Johnson comme fermier. Ils se sont enrôlés à une semaine d’intervalle en novembre 1914 à Kingston et ont intégré les rangs du 21e Bataillon comme simples soldats. Avant son enrôlement dans le CEC, George avait servi pendant un dans le 40e Régiment de Cobourg, Ontario.

Après leur entraînement à Kingston, ils sont montés à bord d’un train en direction de Montréal où, le 6 mai 1915, ils se sont embarqués sur le SS Metagama pour se rendre en Angleterre. Lors de leur arrivée le 15 mai, ils se sont dirigés vers le camp de West Sandling situé à Saltwood, Kent. Là, les soldats du CEC et de d’autres forces alliées britanniques devaient suivre un entraînement rigoureux dans la « pratique des tranchées » à Tolsford Hill avant d’être envoyés au front en France. Cet entraînement consistait à creuser des tranchées et à « sauter par-dessus ». Le 6 juin 1915, George fut promu caporal suppléant alors que Johnson fut promu au même rang un mois plus tard. Le 14 septembre suivant, le 21e Bataillon fit voile de Folkestone vers Boulogne, France, devenant ainsi le ainsi le premier bataillon à traverser la Manche en plein jour. Leur bataillon allait demeurer en France jusqu’à la fin de la guerre.

Johnson allait rapidement devenir l’un des meilleurs tireurs d’élite de la Première Grande guerre. Paradoxalement, on réfère souvent à lui comme le « doux tireur » en raison de sa grande sagesse et de son grand calme. Il ne parlait pas souvent, mais quand il le faisait, tout le monde l’écoutait.

Peu après son débarquement à Boulogne, Johnson fut envoyé à Messines où, le 22 septembre, il fut atteint d’une balle dans la cuisse gauche. Après avoir récupéré de sa blessure, il a rejoint son unité à Ypres, en Belgique, et c’est là que Johnson a démontré qu’il possédait les qualités requises d’un tireur d’élite. Dès le début, il a servi comme éclaireur et tireur. Selon les encoches enregistrées sur la crosse de sa carabine, il aurait réussi à abattre 42 soldats allemands. On remarqua également ses talents à titre d’observateur avancé. Il avait un talent inné pour ramper dangereusement près des tranchées ennemies sans se faire voir. On lui confiait souvent la protection des généraux hauts gradés lors de leurs tournées d’inspection du front en France et en Belgique.

Mais depuis début de 1918, il commençait à sentir le poids des années. Sa vision n’était plus aussi bonne et il souffrait d’essoufflement, ainsi que de douleurs et de raideurs à l’épaule, aux hanches et aux genoux à cause des blessures par balles, éclats d’obus et coups de baïonnette reçues au cours de son service militaire. N’étant plus en mesure de remplir pleinement ses fonctions sur le terrain, il fut rétrogradé au rang de simple soldat en février 1918 et affecté à la Eastern Ontario Regimental Depot située à Seaford, Angleterre, avant d’être brièvement envoyé au 6e Bataillon de réserve. Après avoir été déclaré apte uniquement pour le service de base, Johnson a quitté Liverpool pour le Canada le 13 mai suivant. Il a finalement été démobilisé le 9 juillet 1918 à Kingston, Ontario.

Johnson a reçu plusieurs médailles, dont l’Étoile de Mons (pour avoir fait partie d’une unité ayant subi des tirs intenses et soutenus durant une courte période de temps) et la Médaille des Alliés pour son service. Il a reçu une autre médaille pour avoir communiqué des informations à l’effet que l’ennemi se massait sur la côte 70 (août 1917) en vue d’une contre-attaque qui s’est produite 25 minutes après son rapport. Son avertissement en temps opportun a sauvé de nombreuses vies. Il a aussi été recommandé pour la Médaille de conduite distinguée pour avoir sauvé la vie d’un officier lors de la bataille de la Somme. En avril 1918, il se vit également décerner la Médaille militaire pour bravoure sur le champ de bataille. Le 26 janvier 1918, lorsque nos tranchées subissaient un bombardement très intense, Johnson était demeuré à son poste et a continué de tirer sur diverses cibles sans tenir compte du danger. Johnson fut présenté au roi George VI et à la reine Elizabeth lors de leur visite au Canada en 1939.

Après la guerre, Johnson s’est installé à Lindsay, Ontario, et c’est avec plaisir qu’il a réintégré la vie civile. Il a travaillé comme facteur rural dans la région de Lindsay durant 25 ans avant de déménager dans la région de Durham. Il est également devenu Chef des Premières Nations et a fait valoir les besoins de son peuple en remplissant diverses fonctions diplomatiques. Il est décédé dans sa résidence de Brougham le 26 octobre 1959 à l’âge de 84 ans et est inhumé dans le cimetière de Riverside, Lindsay.

L’expérience militaire de son frère George au front s’est déroulée de façon très différente. George a servi dans la section des mitrailleuses de son bataillon et, le 26 décembre 1915, il a été promu au grade de caporal. Toutefois, le 10 juillet 1916, il souffrait d’une appendicite aiguë et a été admis au 4e Corps canadien d’ambulance de campagne avant d’être transféré au 5e Corps canadien d’ambulance. Il allait passer les mois suivants dans des stations de triage de blessés, des dépôts de convalescence et des hôpitaux après que l’on lui ait diagnostiqué diverses maladies chroniques et une névrose résultant de son service au front. Bien que l’on sache peu de choses sur son service au front en France, George a été le récipiendaire tant de la Médaille de guerre britannique que de la Médaille de la Victoire. Ayant été déclaré invalide au début de janvier 1917, il s’est embarqué peu après pour le Canada, arrivant à Montréal le 13 février. Il a ensuite suivi des traitements en consultation externe durant plusieurs mois dans les hôpitaux d’Elmhurst et d’Ongwanada à Kingston. Il a finalement obtenu sa démobilisation du CEC le 26 octobre 1917.

Après la guerre, George est retourné sur la réserve d’Hiawatha où il a travaillé comme guide et est devenu le Chef de la bande des Mississaugas. Il a aussi servi dans la Garde des anciens combattants du Canada durant la Seconde Grande guerre.

George est décédé en août 1969 et repose en paix dans le cimetière d’Hiawatha auprès de son épouse Margaret Anderson (1893-1966), et son fils Herman (1918-1935). Le nom de son fils Elmer Robert (1920-1942) est également gravé sur la pierre tombale bien que le corps de ce dernier repose ailleurs en terrain inconnu.

Le sergent-chef Elmer Robert Paudash s’est enrôlé dans l’Aviation royale du Canada une semaine avant Noël 1940. À l’école de pilotage, il a appris le code Morse et a terminé parmi les trois premiers de sa promotion. Par la suite, il est devenu opérateur de radio et mitrailleur. Envoyé en Angleterre, il a été affecté à la Royal Air Force Bomber Command. Pour des raisons de sécurité, lui et les pilotes de son escadron volaient la nuit, alors que mille avions à la fois décollaient des champs d’aviation situés tout le long de la Manche. Lors de chaque mission, environ 200 de ces avions ne revenaient pas. Il était membre du 115e escadron qui avait pour mission de larguer des mines dans la mer du Nord afin d’empêcher les navires et les sous-marins allemands de s’approcher des côtes de l’Angleterre. Le 21 septembre 1942, il a été déclaré mort au combat lorsque son avion Wellington a disparu durant une de ces missions de largage. Son nom figure sur la plaque no 106 du Commonwealth Air Forces Runnymede Memorial situé à Surry, Angleterre. Ce monument rappelle les noms des 20,285 pilotes disparus durant la guerre et qui n’ont aucune sépulture connue. Elmer s’est mérité plusieurs décorations : l’Étoile de la guerre 1939-1945, l’Étoile de la bataille aérienne en Europe, la Médaille de la Défense, la Médaille canadienne du volontaire et la Médaille de la guerre 1939-1945. Le 27 février 1947, les Ailes opérationnelles de l’ARC lui furent aussi décernées à titre posthume en reconnaissance de son valeureux service au combat contre l’ennemi.

Un autre fils de George, George Reginald, à également servi durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il est né le 16 mai 1914, donc peu avant que son père lui-même ne s’enrôle. George Reginald a servi avec le grade de sergent dans le Nord-Ouest de l’Europe. Il a participé à l’invasion du jour J avec les Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry Highlanders, un régiment d’infanterie de la Première réserve de l’Armée canadienne. Après la guerre, il a succédé à son père comme Chef de la bande des Mississaugas du lac Rice durant plusieurs années. Il est décédé le 29 novembre 1982 et est inhumé dans le cimetière de la réserve Hiawatha.

Lectures complémentaires

Photos

George Paudash. Source

Johnson Paudash. Source

Notice biographique
Nom et prénom Paudash, Johnson
Nation Ojibwa
Nom de bande Hiawatha First Nation
Lieu de bande ON
Date de naissance 1875-01-29
Lieu de naissance Hiawatha, ON
Date de décès 1959-10-26
Proche parent Wife: Florence Paudash
Marié avant l’inscription Married
Métier avant l’inscription Farmer
Notes biographiques Paudash is officially credited with killing 88 enemy soldiers. C.f. Annual Report of the Department of Indian Affairs for the year ended March 31 1919.
Religion Other
Conflit WWI, WWII
Numéro de service 59779
Dossiers de service http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/first-world-war-1914-1918-cef/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=569979
Unité du CEC 21st Bn
Grade militaire A/Cpl.
Date d’inscription 1914-11-11
Lieu d’inscription Kingston, ON
Âge au moment de l’inscription 39
Historique de service sniper, WWII Veterans Guard
Antécédents médicaux 1915-09-22
Décédé à l’âge de 84
Lieu d’enterrement Riverside Cemetery, Lindsay, ON
Décoration militaire http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/military-medals-1812-1969/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=87935&
Décorations décernées (MM)
Date de décoration 1918-04-10
Notes sur la décoration Citation reads:For gallantry and devotion to duty. On 26th January 1918, when our trenches were heavily bombarded, Pte Paudash maintained his post and continued to snipe disregardful of danger. Seeing a Hun observing the effect of the Trench Mortars he shot him and continued sniping at various targets while they presented themselves. during his 29 months service in France Pte Paudash has sniped 42 Huns. AFW 3121 27-2-18
Autres liens http://21stbattalion.ca/tributeos/paudash_j.html
Photo http://21stbattalion.ca/tributeos/paudash_j.html
Numéro de réference Veterans’ Land Grants 1955-1965 (LAC RG10-B-3-e-xvi)
Identificateur 5595