Keeper, Joe (Joseph) Benjamin

Joseph Benjamin Keeper, a member of the Norway House Cree Nation, was born at Walker Lake, Manitoba on Jan. 17, 1886. At the age of 13, he, like many First Nation children at the time, was sent for schooling to the Brandon Indian Residential School. It was while there, that Keeper showed an enthusiasm and a talent for long distance running.

In 1910, after moving to Winnipeg, Keeper joined the North End Amateur Athletic Club. The next year, he set a Canadian record of 54:50 for the ten-mile run and he was chosen to be a member of the 1912 Canadian Olympic Team. At the Olympics in Stockholm, Sweden, he ran in the 5000 and 10,000 metre runs. In the later race, he finished fourth, the best ever result for a Canadian runner in that event.

Keeper continued to run after the Olympics, but he gave up any hopes of participating in the 1916 Olympics, when in May of that year, he volunteered to join the military. Keeper spent two years serving in France. Keeper served as a despatch carrier for the 107th Pioneer Battalion, alongside other First Nation athletes, such as Arthur Jamieson. In 1919, he received the Military Medal for his brave actions at Cambrai during the war.

After the war, Keeper returned to Manitoba and worked as a carpenter and later, for the Hudson Bay Company until his retirement in 1951. He and his wife Christina McLeod had 7 children. He died on Sept 21, 1971. To this day, the Norway House Cree Nation and the Manitoba Runner’s Association each host memorial races in his honour. He has been inducted into the Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame, Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame and the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame.

Further reading

  • Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame. “Joe Benjamin Keeper”. Retrieved Feb. 25, 2016
  • Wikipedia. “Joe Keeper”. Retrieved Feb. 25, 2016
Biographical Record
Full Name Keeper, Joe (Joseph) Benjamin
Heritage Cree
Band Location Norway House, MB
Birth Date 1886-01-21
Birthplace Walker Lake, MB
Date of Death 1971-09-21
Next of Kin Mother: Matilda Keeper
Occupation before Enlistment Carptenter, Athlete
Religion Methodist
Conflict WWI
Service Number 235021
Service Files http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/first-world-war-1914-1918-cef/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=490151
Rank Sapper
Date of Enlistment 1916-05-01
Location of Enlistment Norway House, MB
Age at Enlistment 27
Service History Olympian runner 1912
Medals http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/military-medals-1812-1969/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=71168&
Medal awarded (MM)
Date Medal is awarded 1919-02-11
Identifier 5151

Keeper, Joe (Joseph) Benjamin

Joseph Benjamin Keeper, un membre de la Nation Crie de Norway House, est né le 17 janvier 1886 à Walker Lake, Manitoba. Comme beaucoup d’autres enfants des Premières Nations à l’époque, il a été envoyé, à l’âge de 13 ans, au pensionnat indien de Brandon. C’est là qu’il s’est découvert une passion et un talent pour la course longue distance.

Après s’être installé à Winnipeg, Keeper s’est joint, en 1910, au North End Amateur Athletic Club. L’année suivante, il a établi un record canadien de 54 min 50 s pour la course de dix milles et fut choisi pour faire partie de l’équipe olympique canadienne de 1912. Aux Olympiques de Stockholm, en Suède, il a participé aux courses de 5000 et de 10000 mètres, finissant au quatrième rang dans cette dernière, soit la meilleure performance pour un athlète canadien dans cette discipline.

Keeper a continué de courir après les Olympiques, mais il a abandonné tout espoir de participer aux Olympiques de 1916 quand, en mai de cette année, il s’est enrôlé dans l’armée. Keeper a servi deux ans en France à titre d’estafette au sein du 107e Bataillon des pionniers, aux côtés d’autres athlètes des Premières Nations tels que Arthur Jamieson. En 1919, il a reçu la Médaille militaire pour ses actes de bravoure à Cambrai durant la guerre.

Après la guerre, Keeper est retourné au Manitoba et a travaillé comme charpentier avant d’être engagé par la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson jusqu’à sa retraite en 1951. Lui et son épouse Christina McLeod ont eu sept enfants. Il est décédé le 21 septembre 1971. Encore aujourd’hui, la Nation Crie de Norway House et l’Association des coureurs du Manitoba organisent toutes deux des courses en son honneur. Keeper a été intronisé au Temple de la renommée olympique du Canada, au Temple de la renommée des sports du Canada et au Temple de la renommée des sports du Manitoba.

Lectures complémentaires

  • Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame. “Joe Benjamin Keeper”. Consulté le 25 févr. 2016.
  • Wikipedia. “Joe Keeper”. Consulté le 25 févr. 2016.
Notice biographique
Nom et prénom Keeper, Joe (Joseph) Benjamin
Nation Cree
Lieu de bande Norway House, MB
Date de naissance 1886-01-21
Lieu de naissance Walker Lake, MB
Date de décès 1971-09-21
Proche parent Mother: Matilda Keeper
Métier avant l’inscription Carptenter, Athlete
Religion Methodist
Conflit WWI
Numéro de service 235021
Dossiers de service http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/first-world-war-1914-1918-cef/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=490151
Grade militaire Sapper
Date d’inscription 1916-05-01
Lieu d’inscription Norway House, MB
Âge au moment de l’inscription 27
Historique de service Olympian runner 1912
Décoration militaire http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/military-medals-1812-1969/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=71168&
Décorations décernées (MM)
Date de décoration 1919-02-11
Identificateur 5151