McLean, George

George McLean was born in Kamloops, British Columbia, on April 15, 1875. He was the son of Allan McLean, leader of the infamous Wild McLean Boys, who was executed at New Westminster in British Columbia in 1881. Despite that fact, Private George McLean was of noble lineage. His mother Angele was the daughter of Johnny Chillihetza, Chief of the Douglas Lake Indian Band, and the niece of Nicola, Grand chief of the Okanagan people and Chief of the Nicola Valley peoples. The latter gave his name to the Nicola Country, now represented by the Thompson-Nicola Regional District. Also, McLean’s paternal grandmother was the daughter of Louis Clexlixqen, Hereditary Chief of the Kamloops Indian Band.

Like many Aboriginal Canadians, McLean served during the Boer War, in South Africa (1899-1902). He enlisted at Kamloops on April 24, 1902 and served with the Canadian Mounted Rifles for 6 months. After the Boer War, he became a rancher in the Douglas Lake area.

During the First World War, every single man from the Head of the Lake Band aged between 20 and 35 volunteered. Though he was now 41 years old, McLean followed suite, enlisting once more in Vernon, British Columbia, on October 14, 1916. Sailing for Great Britain almost immediately, he was in France with the 54th Battalion of the Canadian Infantry (Kootenay battalion) as early as December.

An issue of the Vancouver Daily Sun dated October 7, 1917, reported that a party of returned veterans had arrived in Vancouver the day before and that Private McLean was among them. He had made a name for himself in the military annals of the Battle of Vimy Ridge (9-12 April 1917) where he launched a daring solo attack on a large number of German soldiers. During the third day of the battle, one of the officers of Private McLean’s section was wounded. He carried him out of the melee and when he returned, he and a companion found themselves near a German dugout containing about 60 men. Armed with about a dozen Mills bombs—small grenades nicknamed "pineapples", he was about to throw the first one when his companion was killed by his side. He then stated bombing in earnest. In the face of such determination, the German sergeant-major threw up his hands shouting “Do not throw the bomb”. McLean paused and the German asked how many soldiers were in his party. McLean answered that there were 150. The German then handed over his automatic and called to his companions who emerged with their hands up. McLean then marched the survivors to the British lines under cover of the German automatic.

For his brave feat of arms, George McLean became one of nearly 2,000 members of the Canadian Expeditionary Force (CEF) to earn the Distinguished Conduct Medal (DCM), the second-highest award for gallantry available to non-commissioned officers and privates in the Great War. The private's citation resumes his actions:

Single-handed he captured 19 prisoners, and later, when attacked by five more prisoners who attempted to reach a machine-gun, he was able—although wounded—to dispose of them unaided, thus saving a large number of casualties.

After his return to British Columbia, he eventually became a fireman in the Vancouver region. He died on September 6, 1934 in Merritt, Thompson-Nicola Regional District.

Further Reading

  • Canadian Great War Project. Private George McLean. Retrieved Mar. 7, 2016
  • Mel Rothenburger “Looking for Pvt. George McLean - and honoring a hero of Vimy” in The Armchair Mayor News, Sept. 17, 2014. Retrieved Mar. 7, 2016
  • Mel Rothenburger. The Wild McLeans. Victoria, B.C. : Orca Book Publishers, 1993.
  • Veterans Affairs Canada. Native Soldiers, Foreign Battlefields. [Ottawa]: Veterans Affairs Canada, 2005. Retrieved March 7, 2016
Biographical Record
Full Name McLean, George
Heritage Okanagan
Band Name Upper Nicola Band
Band Location Nicola Lake / Douglas Lake, BC
Birth Date 1876-04-16
Birthplace Kamloops, BC
Next of Kin Mrs. Margaret Bono (Guardian of children)
Married before Enlistment Married
Occupation before Enlistment Rancher
Biographical Notes In April 1917, McLean was shot in the arm by a sniper and he returned to Canada for medical treatment. He went back to British Columbia, and eventually became a fireman in the Vancouver region. Cf. Native soldiers, Foreign battlefields, p. 14
Religion Roman Catholic
Conflict Boer, WWI
Service Number 688302
Service Files http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/first-world-war-1914-1918-cef/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=162368
CEF Unit 172nd Bn, 54th Bn
Rank Private
Previous Military Experience 2nd C.M.Rs (6 mths) (Boer War)
Date of Enlistment 1916-10-14
Location of Enlistment Vernon, BC
Age at Enlistment 41
Service History Served in Boer War (C.M.R.)
Medals http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/military-medals-1812-1969/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=81265&
Medal awarded (DCM)
Date Medal is awarded 1917-08-16
Veterans’ Land Grants reference number 1947 (LAC RG10-B-3-e-xvi)
Identifier 3837

McLean, George

George McLean est né à Kamloops, Colombie-Britannique, le 15 avril 1875. Il était le fils de Allan McLean, le chef de la bande tristement célèbre des « Wild McLean Boys » qui fut exécuté en 1881 à New Westminster, Colombie-Britannique. Malgré ce fait, George McLean était issu d’une noble lignée. Sa mère Angèle était la fille de Johnny Chillihetza, chef de la réserve indienne de Douglas Lake, ainsi que la nièce de Nicola, le grand chef de la nation okanagane et chef des Premières Nations résidant dans la vallée Nicola. Son nom fut subséquemment attribué à la région de Nicola qui forme aujourd’hui le district régional de Thompson-Nicola. Par ailleurs, la grand-mère paternelle de McLean était la fille de Louis Clexlixqen, le chef héréditaire de la bande indienne de Kamloops.

Comme bon nombre d’Autochtones canadiens, McLean a servi en Afrique du Sud, durant la guerre des Boers (1899-1902). Il s’était enrôlé le 24 avril 1902, joignant les rangs des Canadian Mounted Rifles pendant six mois. Après la guerre des Boers, il est devenu éleveur dans la région de Douglas Lake.

Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, tous les hommes célibataires de la bande Head of the Lake âgés de 20 à 35 ans se sont portés volontaires. Bien qu’il soit alors âgé de 41 ans, McLean s’est enrôlé lui aussi le 14 octobre 1916, à Vernon, Colombie-Britannique. Il s’embarqua presqu’aussitôt pour la Grande-Bretagne et s’est retrouvé en France dès décembre avec le 54e Bataillon d’infanterie canadienne (Bataillon de Kootenay).

Un numéro du Vancouver Daily Sun en date du 7 octobre 1917 rapporte qu’un groupe de vétérans revenus au pays était arrivé à Vancouver le jour précédent et que le soldat McLean se trouvait parmi eux. Il avait acquis une notoriété dans les annales militaires pour avoir, au cours de la bataille de la crête de Vimy (9-12 avril 1917), lancé une audacieuse attaque solo contre un groupe important de soldats allemands. Le troisième jour de la bataille, l’un des officiers de sa section fut blessé. McLean l’a transporté hors de la mêlée et, à son retour, lui et son compagnon se sont retrouvés à proximité d’une tranchée allemande contenant une soixantaine d’hommes. Il avait sur lui une douzaine de bombes Mills – de petites grenades que l’on surnommait « ananas ». Il allait tirer la première lorsque son compagnon fut tué à ses côtés. Il a alors commencé à lancer ses grenades avec vigueur. Devant une telle détermination, le sergent-major allemand a levé les bras en criant « Ne lancez pas la bombe ». McLean arrêta et l’Allemand lui a demandé combien de soldats il y avait dans son groupe. McLean a répondu qu’il y en avait 150. L’officier allemand a alors rendu son arme automatique et a demandé à ses compagnons de lui suivre hors de la tranchée les mains en l’air. McLean a ensuite dirigé les survivants vers les lignes britanniques à l’aide de l’arme automatique de l’officier allemand.

À la suite de cet acte de bravoure, George McLean est devenu l’un des quelque 2,000 membres de la FEC à recevoir la Médaille de conduite distinguée (MCD), la deuxième distinction en importance qui soulignait la bravoure des sous-officiers et des soldats durant la Grande Guerre. La citation résume ainsi les actes du soldat :

À lui seul, il fit 19 prisonniers et plus tard, lorsqu'il fut attaqué par cinq autres prisonniers qui tentaient de s'emparer d'une mitrailleuse, il parvint - quoique blessé - à se défaire d'eux sans aide, prévenant ainsi un grand nombre de pertes.

Après son retour en Colombie-Britannique, il a travaillé comme pompier dans la région de Vancouver. Il est mort le 6 septembre 1934, à Merritt, dans le district régional de Thompson-Nicola.

Lectures complémentaires

  • Canadian Great War Project. Private George McLean. Consulté le 7 mars 2016
  • Mel Rothenburger “Looking for Pvt. George McLean - and honoring a hero of Vimy” in The Armchair Mayor News, Sept. 17, 2014. Consulté le 7 mars 2016
  • Mel Rothenburger. The Wild McLeans. Victoria, B.C. : Orca Book Publishers, 1993.
  • Anciens Combattants Canada. Soldats autochtones : Terres étrangères. [Ottawa]: Anciens Combattants Canada, 2005. Consulté le 7 mars 2016
Notice biographique
Nom et prénom McLean, George
Nation Okanagan
Nom de bande Upper Nicola Band
Lieu de bande Nicola Lake / Douglas Lake, BC
Date de naissance 1876-04-16
Lieu de naissance Kamloops, BC
Proche parent Mrs. Margaret Bono (Guardian of children)
Marié avant l’inscription Married
Métier avant l’inscription Rancher
Notes biographiques In April 1917, McLean was shot in the arm by a sniper and he returned to Canada for medical treatment. He went back to British Columbia, and eventually became a fireman in the Vancouver region. Cf. Native soldiers, Foreign battlefields, p. 14
Religion Roman Catholic
Conflit Boer, WWI
Numéro de service 688302
Dossiers de service http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/first-world-war-1914-1918-cef/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=162368
Unité du CEC 172nd Bn, 54th Bn
Grade militaire Private
Expérience militaire antérieure 2nd C.M.Rs (6 mths) (Boer War)
Date d’inscription 1916-10-14
Lieu d’inscription Vernon, BC
Âge au moment de l’inscription 41
Historique de service Served in Boer War (C.M.R.)
Décoration militaire http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/military-medals-1812-1969/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=81265&
Décorations décernées (DCM)
Date de décoration 1917-08-16
Numéro de réference Veterans’ Land Grants 1947 (LAC RG10-B-3-e-xvi)
Identificateur 3837