Pegahmagabow, Francis (Chief)

Source

Francis Pegahmagabow was the most highly decorated Aboriginal soldier in Canadian military history - winning the Military Medal with two bars. He was also one of the most effective snipers of the First World War, credited with killing upwards of 378 Germans and capturing 300 more.

Pegahmagabow, an Ojibwa, was a proud member of the Wasauksing First Nation. He was born on March 9th, 1891, near Parry Sound, Ontario. Orphaned at an early age, he was raised by the First Nation community. Prior to the war, Pegahmagabow worked on the lake boats as a marine fireman.

In the early days of the First World War, the Canadian government excluded Aboriginal Canadians from military service, but Pegahmagabow somehow managed to be one of the first to sign on with the 23rd Regiment (Northern Pioneers). He travelled to Europe in February 1915. He soon saw action, when that Spring he participated in the Second Battle of Ypres.- the first major battle fought by Canadian troops. It was during this battle that Germany made large-scale use of poison gas for the first time on the Western Front. It was a horrific battle, with loss of life in the tens of thousands, but it was where Pegahmagabow began to establish himself as a fearless sniper and a scout.

During the Battle of the Somme the following year, Pegahmagabow was awarded the Military Medal for his efforts in carrying messages along the lines while repeatedly facing enemy fire. On November 6th and 7th, 1917, Pegahmagabow, by now promoted to the rank of corporal, earned a Bar to his Military Medal for his brave efforts in the Second Battle of Passchendaele. In the following year, during the Battle of the Scarpe, Pegahmagabow was awarded a second Bar to his Military Medal, becoming one of only 38 Canadians to receive this honour.

Pegahmagabow survived the war and returned to Canada in 1919. But his battles were far from over. While largely treated as an equal on the battlefields of Europe, he returned to Canada a second-class citizen - facing poverty and racism. Indian agents controlled much of his life, including his well-earned pension. He sent letters to government officials, demanding better treatment and he helped to form some of the first national aboriginal rights movements in Canada. Pegahmagabow, father of six children with wife Eva, died Aug. 5 1952 of a heart attack.

“I like to think of him as being a warrior in the First World War for Canada,” Sgt. Peter Moon of CFB Borden told the CBC, “and then he came back and because of the way he was treated, he became a warrior for his own people, and he suffered greatly in both capacities.”

In 2006, the military recognized his achievements and sacrifice by erecting a monument at CFB Borden to him, declaring him “a hero of the First World War”. He is a member of the Indian Hall of Fame at the Woodland Centre in Brantford, Ontario. Joseph Boyden’s award-winning 2005 novel, Three Day Road, was in part, inspired by the life of Pegahmagabow.

Further reading

Biographical Record
Full Name Pegahmagabow, Francis (Chief)
Also Known As Peggy
Heritage Ojibwa
Band Name Wasauksing First Nation
Band Location ON
Birth Date 1891-03-09
Birthplace Shawanaga Lake, ON
Date of Death 1952-01-01
Married before Enlistment Single
Occupation before Enlistment Marine fireman for the Dept. of Marine and Fisheries
Biographical Notes He was one of only 39 members of the CEF who received the maximum two bars to the MM. Cf. Native soldiers, Foreign battlefields, p 10, After the war, he became chief of the Parry Island Band
Religion Roman Catholic
Conflict WWI
Service Number 6846
Service Files http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/first-world-war-1914-1918-cef/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=572634
CEF Unit 1st Bn 6846
CEF Branch Canadian Expeditionary Force
Rank Lance Corporal
Date of Enlistment 1914-09-15
Location of Enlistment Valcartier, QC
Age at Enlistment 23
Service History NCO sniper, (MM & 2 Bars)
Medals http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/military-medals-1812-1969/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=89020&, http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/military-medals-1812-1969/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=89018&, http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/military-medals-1812-1969/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=89019&
Medal awarded (MM with 2nd bar)
Date Medal is awarded 1916-06-03, 1918-03-13, 1919-02-11
Identifier 3377

Pegahmagabow, Francis (Chief)

Source

Récipiendaire de la Médaille militaire avec deux barrettes, Francis Pegahmagabow est le soldat autochtone le plus décoré dans l’histoire de l’Armée canadienne. Il est également reconnu comme l’un des meilleurs tireurs d’élite de la Première Guerre mondiale. On rapporte qu’il aurait abattu au moins 378 Allemands et capturé 300 autres.

Pegahmagabow, un Ojibwa, était un fier membre de la Première Nation de Wasauksing. Il est né le 9 mars 1891, près de Parry Sound, Ontario. Orphelin dès son jeune âge, il a été élevé par sa communauté des Premières Nations. Avant la guerre, Pegahmagabow a travaillé sur les sur les Grands Lacs comme marin-pompier.

Au début de la Première Guerre mondiale, les Autochtones canadiens étaient exclus du service militaire par le gouvernement canadien. Pegahmagabow a toutefois réussi à compter parmi les premiers soldats à s’enrôler dans le 23e Regiment (Northern Pioneers) et, en février 1915, il s’embarquait pour l’Europe. Il s’est retrouvé dans le feu de l’action dès le printemps lorsqu’il a pris part à la deuxième bataille d’Ypres – celle où les troupes canadiennes ont livré leur première grande bataille. C’est lors de cette bataille que, pour la première fois, l’Allemagne a utilisé des gaz toxiques à grande échelle sur le front occidental. Cette bataille sanglante a entraîné la perte de dizaines de milliers d’hommes, mais c’est aussi celle où Pegahmagabow a commencé à se faire une réputation d’éclaireur et de tireur d’élite sans peur.

L’année suivante, durant la bataille de la Somme, Pegahmagabow a reçu la Médaille militaire pour avoir réussi à livrer des messages le long des lignes alors qu’il était, à maintes reprises, exposé aux tirs de l’ennemi. Les 6 et 7 novembre 1917, Pegahmagabow, maintenant promu au grade de caporal, s’est mérité une première barrette à sa Médaille militaire pour ses efforts et son courage durant la deuxième bataille de Passchendaele. L’année suivante, durant la bataille de la Scarpe, Pegahmagabow s’est vu décerné une seconde barrette à sa Médaille militaire, un honneur qu’il ne partage qu’avec 38 autres Canadiens.

Ayant survécu à la guerre, Pegahmagabow était de retour au Canada en 1919, mais ses luttes étaient loin d’être terminées. Bien que généralement traité d’égal à égal sur les champs de bataille de l’Europe, il était considéré comme un citoyen de seconde classe au Canada où il a vécu dans la pauvreté et a été victime de racisme. Les agents autochtones ont contrôlé une grande partie de sa vie, y compris son fonds de pension bien mérité. Il a expédié de nombreuses lettres aux autorités gouvernementales pour réclamer un meilleur traitement et a participé à la formation de quelques-uns des premiers mouvements pour le respect des droits des Autochtones du Canada. Père de six enfants avec son épouse Eva, Pegahmagabow est décédé d’une crise cardiaque le 5 août 1952.

Le sergent Peter Moon, de la base des Forces canadiennes Borden, a déclaré à la CBC: « J’aime l’imaginer comme étant un guerrier pour le Canada dans la Première Guerre mondiale, puis il est revenu et, à cause de la façon dont il a été traité, il est devenu un guerrier pour son propre peuple, et il a beaucoup souffert dans l’un comme dans l’autre rôle. »

En 2006, l’armée a reconnu ses réalisations et ses sacrifices en érigeant un monument en son honneur à la base des Forces canadiennes Borden, lequel déclare qu’il était un « héro de la Première Guerre mondiale ». Il est membre du Temple de la renommée des Indiens qui se trouve au Woodland Cultural Centre, à Brantford, Ontario. Le roman primé de Joseph Boyden, Three Day Road (2005), est en partie inspiré par la vie de Pegahmagabow.

Lectures complémentaires

Notice biographique
Nom et prénom Pegahmagabow, Francis (Chief)
Aussi connu comme Peggy
Nation Ojibwa
Nom de bande Wasauksing First Nation
Lieu de bande ON
Date de naissance 1891-03-09
Lieu de naissance Shawanaga Lake, ON
Date de décès 1952-01-01
Marié avant l’inscription Single
Métier avant l’inscription Marine fireman for the Dept. of Marine and Fisheries
Notes biographiques He was one of only 39 members of the CEF who received the maximum two bars to the MM. Cf. Native soldiers, Foreign battlefields, p 10, After the war, he became chief of the Parry Island Band
Religion Roman Catholic
Conflit WWI
Numéro de service 6846
Dossiers de service http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/first-world-war-1914-1918-cef/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=572634
Unité du CEC 1st Bn 6846
Arme du CEC Canadian Expeditionary Force
Grade militaire Lance Corporal
Date d’inscription 1914-09-15
Lieu d’inscription Valcartier, QC
Âge au moment de l’inscription 23
Historique de service NCO sniper, (MM & 2 Bars)
Décoration militaire http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/military-medals-1812-1969/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=89020&, http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/military-medals-1812-1969/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=89018&, http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/military-medals-1812-1969/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=89019&
Décorations décernées (MM with 2nd bar)
Date de décoration 1916-06-03, 1918-03-13, 1919-02-11
Identificateur 3377