Chartrand, Dorothy

Source

Dorothy Bellerose was a Metis of Cree and French descent. She was born in St. Albert, Alberta, on August 15, 1918, the 11th child of a family of 13 born to Pierre Bellerose and Justine Beaudry. The Bellerose family is one of the early and founding Metis families of the settlement of St. Albert. The family patriarch in the region was Olivier Bellerose (1809-1891), Dorothy’s great grandfather, who came to the region from Quebec in 1833, in the employ of the Hudson's Bay Company.The family had lived on the same lot of farming land for three generations. It was located along the Sturgeon River, in Saint Albert.

Dorothy first attended the Guilbault School for girls in her home town, then the Colinton School, in Colinton, Alberta, where the family lived for three years after the death of her grandfather, Octave. The family then returned to Saint Albert where she completed her 12th grade. She then followed a business course at St. Mary’s High School in Edmonton. In those days, the pursuit of such an education presented quite a challenge for a Metis woman, but she claimed to have but one goal, and that was to find a good job. And she succeeded. In 1939, she found a job with the Alberta Department of Trade and Industry.

With the outbreak of the Second World War, many young people enlisted in the military forces. On September 11, 1941, Dorothy herself followed suit enlisting in Edmonton with the Alberta Women’s Service Corps which belonged to the Canadian Women’s Army Corps (CWAC). This Corps had been established on July 30th, 1941. She was the 9th woman to join the new Corps and one of only 25 Native women to serve in the Canadian military during World War II. She later related that she was among the 200 to 250 women who received training in different communication systems such as the telegraph system, Morse code and semaphore. She underwent her military training in Calgary, Alberta, after which she got posted in Red Deer. Later, she returned to Calgary. She was promoted to sergeant in 1942, and then to the rank of staff sergeant in 1943.

As Aboriginals were not allowed in the army in those early days, Dorothy had to deny her Metis identity to join up. It was also the first time in history that women had been allowed in active service, so the army had to come up with uniforms for them. “The uniforms … were so stylish,” Dorothy writes, featuring an olive drab suit and skirt, brown shoulder tabs and shoes, and a French kepi-style hat. Nylons were strictly forbidden, she noted, as was bright nail polish. Dorothy was so proud of her uniform that she wore its overcoat for years after the war. Her uniform is now on display at the Musée Héritage Museum in St. Albert.

In 1944, Dorothy became one of the few Canadian women to serve in the military overseas. On November 29, 1944, she boarded a train to Halifax, and from Pier 21, she set sail for Liverpool, England. The 8-day journey at sea was dangerous, particularly in the blackness of night because of the pervasive presence of German subs.

Upon her arrival in London, she was stationed at Canada House where she worked as an administrator. Officially opened in Trafalgar Square by King George V in 1925, Canada House was the headquarters for Canada’s armed services during the Second World War. Its Beaver Club was a hub of activity during the war years, with service personnel gathering there regularly to socialize. She was there at the time the Germans were lobbing V-1 rockets at London from Holland. Dorothy long remembered the wailing of air-raid sirens and the scrambling to underground shelters to keep safe from enemy bombardments. If air-raids happened during the night, she and her companions would huddle in their beds as the sirens were followed by the distinct buzz of rocket motors, and then silence till the explosion nearby.

Ten days after her arrival in England, she met her “prince charming”, Robert Atcheson, a Canadian Army sergeant from Saskatchewan. They got married on July 26, 1945, in a small church near Trafalgar Square.

After their discharge from the army, the couple returned to Canada and settled in Saskatchewan where they raised four children: Anita, Joyce, Thomas and Theresa. The adaptation to a new reality was difficult in the beginning. Dorothy later related that “as every veteran knows, once the uniform is replaced by civilian clothes, life changes. Society soon forgets its veterans, so they lose their identity. It’s a cruel adaptation to reality.” Robert’s health gradually deteriorated and the family had to move to Edmonton where he died in 1958.

Left with her four children, Dorothy’s only reliable income was her small War Veterans Allowance (WVA). In order not to lose this pension, and despite her administrative skills, she was forced to accept inferior positions offering minimum wages. Apart from their WVA, very few Metis veterans received any other form of government compensation from the Department of Veterans Affairs. For years now, the Metis National Council has been lobbying on behalf of its veterans for a compensation package similar to the one for Status Indians. At the Batoche Festival held in July 2016, the President of the Manitoba Metis Federation, David Chartrand, was still declaring that “The Métis veterans are the only ones that have never been settled with.” (Grassroots, July 27, 2016, no. 924, p. 12)

So Dorothy struggled on until a few years later she met Élie Chartrand, a widower who had one daughter, Élise Chartrand-Déry, from a previous marriage. The two married in 1963. Much of this biography comes from an article published by Élise Chartrand-Déry in Le Franco shortly after her step-mother’s death. The two were very fond of each other.

Once the children were grown up, Dorothy and Élie travelled across the country and the United States. That is when Dorothy developed a strong interest in historical and genealogical research. She was actively involved in one of the Saint Albert Historical Society’s signature publications: “St. Albert – A Pictorial History” (1978) to which she contributed many photographs and countless hours. She also participated in another one of the Society’s historical publications, a two-volume set entitled “The Black Robe's vision: a history of St. Albert & district” (1985). Dorothy also played an active role in the Royal Canadian Legion, Ex-Service Women’s Branch 215 in Edmonton, in which she was appointed Sergeant-at-Arms.

Élie Chartrand died in 1991. The following year, Dorothy moved into a new home where she remained until 2008. She still travelled from time to time to Ontario where her eldest daughter Anita was suffering from a brain tumor. She eventually died in July 2008 at the age of 62. Dorothy was also to lose a second daughter, Joyce, in November 2012, who resided in Bayside, Nova Scotia.

By now, Dorothy’s health as well was quickly deteriorating. In December 2008, her children moved her to Kipnes, a long-term care center for veterans in Edmonton. It is here that she passed away on September 6, 2013, at the age of 95.

During her lifetime, Dorothy Bellerose Chartrand received several awards for her exceptional life: the Esquao Award (2005) which honours excellence of Aboriginal Women; the Patron’s Award (2011), the third person ever to receive this award from the Aboriginal Veterans Society of Alberta in recognition of her heroism; and the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal (2013), a commemorative medal which served to honour significant contributions and achievements by Canadians. During the year of celebrations, 60 000 deserving Canadians were recognized.

Further Reading

Audio/Video

“A Living History of Métis Families as told by Dorothy Chartrand” (43 min. 39 sec.)

In this video, Dorothy Chartrand, a Métis grandmother, tells the story of her Metis families as the political and social change that impacted Métis lives in the 1800s to today. Her story tells of her family relocation, effects of government land policies, and ways that Métis women in fur trade and later community life helped to sustain communities. This film also tracks some of Dorothy’s more than 25 years of research in archives and HBC and church records that lead to understanding the history of her family and community of St. Albert, Alberta. The filmmaker is indebted to Dorothy for sharing her story and the history of her family and community.

Athabasca University. Alice B. Donahue Library and Archives. Audio Interview with Mrs. Dorothy Chartrand (Bellerose). Interviewed by Marilyn Mol, 1998-08-18. (20 min.)

In this interview, Mrs. Dorothy Chartrand discusses her family history which includes her grandfather, Octave, and his son Pierre setting up the Bellerose Livery Stable in Athabasca in 1898. She also talks about her family’s short sojourn in Colinton near the Athabasca Landing Trail. Mrs. Chartrand mentions early businesses and settlers in the Athabasca area and discusses freighting, lumbering and the railway.

Biographical Record
Full Name Chartrand, Dorothy
Also Known As Bellerose, Dorothy
Heritage Metis
Band Location St Albert, AB
Sex Female
Birth Date 1918-08-15
Birthplace St Albert, AB
Date of Death 2013-09-06
Next of Kin Father: Pierre Bellerose, Mother: Justine Bellerose
Biographical Notes Chartrand was the 3rd person to receive the Patron's Award from the Aboriginal Veterans Society of Alberta., Chartrand finished the war as a sergeant and the newlywed wife of her first husband, Sgt. Robert Atchinson. She went on to become a historian, doing extensive genealogical research and contributing much to St. Albert’s history book, The Black Robe’s Vision., After completing Grade 12, she moved to Edmonton where she acquired a one-year commerical Business Course. She then worked with the Alberta government for 2.5 years before enlisting.
Conflict WWII
CEF Unit C.W.A.C.
Rank Sergeant
Date of Enlistment 1941-09-01
Age at death 95
Other links http://www.stalbertgazette.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20111116/SAG0801/311169957/m-tis-society-honours-local-war-veteran, OBituary: http://www.legacy.com/obituaries/edmontonjournal/obituary.aspx?pid=166940035
Photo http://www.stalbertgazette.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20111116/SAG0801/311169957/m-tis-society-honours-local-war-veteran
Identifier 2769

Chartrand, Dorothy

Source: Ma, Kevin, “Métis society honours local war veteran” in St. Albert Gazette, Nov 16, 2011 (Retrieved Dec. 22, 2016)

Dorothy Bellerose était une métisse d’origine crie et française. Fille de Pierre Bellerose et de Justine Beaudry, elle est née le 15 août 1918 à Saint-Albert, Alberta. Elle était la onzième d’une famille de treize enfants. La famille Bellerose est l’une des plus anciennes familles métisses et souches de la municipalité de Saint-Albert. Le patriarche de la famille était Olivier Bellerose (1809-1891), l’arrière-grand-père de Dorothy, qui a quitté le Québec pour s’établir dans la région en 1833. Il était à l’emploi de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. La famille a occupé le même lot de terre pendant trois générations. La ferme était située sur les rives de la rivière Sturgeon, à Saint-Albert.

Dorothy est d’abord allée à la petite école Guilbault pour filles dans sa ville natale avant de fréquenter l’école de Colinton, en Alberta, où la famille a résidé pendant trois années après la mort de son grand-père Octave. Par la suite, la famille est revenue à Saint-Albert où elle a complété sa 12e année. Elle a ensuite fait son cours commercial au St. Mary’s High School à Edmonton. À l’époque, entreprendre de telles études représentait tout un défi pour une femme métisse, mais elle n’avait, disait-elle, qu’un seul but, celui de se trouver un bon emploi. Et elle a réussi puisqu’en 1939, elle avait trouvé un emploi au ministère du Commerce et de l’Industrie de l’Alberta.

Avec le déclenchement de la Seconde Grande Guerre, beaucoup de jeunes gens se sont enrôlés dans les Forces armées. Le 11 septembre 1941, Dorothy elle-même a suivi leur exemple en se joignant aux rangs de l’Alberta Women’s Service Corps d’Edmonton, lequel Corps faisait partie du Service féminin de l’Armée canadienne (Canadian Women’s Army Corps ou CWAC). Ce corps avait été mis sur pied le 30 juillet 1941. Dorothy était la 9e femme à s’y joindre et l’une de seulement 25 femmes métisses à servir dans l’armée canadienne durant la Seconde Guerre. Plus tard, elle a raconté qu’elle avait été l’une des 200 à 250 femmes à recevoir une formation dans les divers systèmes de communication tels que le télégraphe, le code Morse et le sémaphore. Elle a aussi subi un entraînement militaire à Calgary, Alberta, après quoi elle fut affectée à Red Deer. Elle est retournée plus tard à Calgary. En 1942, elle fut promue au grade de sergente puis, en 1943, à celui de sergente d’état-major.

Comme les Autochtones n’étaient pas admis dans l’armée à l’époque, Dorothy a dû renier son identité métisse pour s’enrôler. Et, pour la première fois dans l’histoire, des femmes étaient autorisées à s’engager dans le service actif. L’armée a donc dû leur fournir des nouveaux uniformes. « Les uniformes … étaient tellement élégants » écrit-elle, avec la veste et la jupe de couleur olive-grisâtre, les épaulettes et les souliers bruns, et le chapeau de style képi français. Les bas de nylon étaient strictement défendus, note-t-elle, ainsi que le poli à ongles de couleur claire. Dorothy était tellement fière de son uniforme qu’elle a continué de porter son manteau durant des années après la guerre. Aujourd’hui, son uniforme est exposé au Musée Héritage Museum de Saint-Albert.

En 1944, Dorothy est devenue l’une des rares Canadiennes à servir dans les forces armées d’outre-mer. Le 29 novembre 1944, elle a pris un train à destination d’Halifax et, du Quai 21, elle a fait voile vers Liverpool, Angleterre. La traversée de 8 jours était dangereuse, surtout dans la noirceur de la nuit à cause de la présence omniprésente des sous-marins allemands.

Dès son arrivée à Londres, elle fut affectée à la Maison du Canada où elle a travaillé dans l’administration. Inaugurée en 1925 par le roi George V, la Maison du Canada était située à Trafalgar Square et a servi de quartier-général pour les forces armées du Canada durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Durant les années de guerre, son Beaver Club constituait un véritable havre d’activités et un lieu de fréquentation régulière pour le personnel militaire. Dorothy s’y trouvait au moment où les Allemands lançaient des missiles V-1 sur Londres depuis la Hollande. Elle s’est souvenue longtemps du hurlement des sirènes et de la course vers les abris souterrains pour rester en sécurité lors des bombardements ennemis. Si un raid-aérien se produisait durant la nuit, elle et ses compagnes se recroquevillaient dans leurs lits pendant que le bruit des sirènes faisait place au son du bourdonnement distinct des moteurs de roquettes puis au silence précédant une explosion à proximité.

Dix jours après son arrivée en Angleterre, elle a rencontré son « prince charmant », Robert Atcheson, un sergent de l’Armée canadienne originaire de la Saskatchewan. Ils se sont mariés le 26 juillet 1945 dans une petite église près de Trafalgar Square.

De retour au Canada après leur démobilisation de l’armée, le couple s’est installé en Saskatchewan où ils ont élevé quatre enfants : Anita, Joyce, Thomas et Theresa. Leur adaptation à cette nouvelle réalité fut difficile au début. Dorothy a raconté plus tard : « Comme le sait tout ancien combattant, aussitôt que l’uniforme est remplacé par l’habit civil, la vie change. Trop vite la société oublie ses anciens combattants qui perdent ainsi leur dignité. C’est une cruelle adaptation à la réalité. » Puis la santé de Robert s’est graduellement détériorée, ce qui a obligé la famille à déménager à Edmonton où il est décédé en 1958.

Laissée seule avec ses quatre enfants, l’unique revenu stable de Dorothy était son allocation d’ancienne combattante (AAC). Pour ne pas perdre cette pension, et malgré ses compétences administratives, elle a dû accepter des emplois très peu rémunérés. À l’exception de leurs AAC, très peu d’anciens combattants métis recevaient une quelconque autre forme d’indemnisation du ministère des Anciens Combattants. Depuis des années, le Conseil national des Métis exerce des pressions afin d’obtenir pour eux un programme d’indemnisation comparable à celui des Indiens inscrits. Lors du Festival de Batoche en juillet 2016, David Chartrand, le président de la Fédération des Métis du Manitoba, déclarait encore que « Les anciens combattants Métis sont les seuls avec qui l’on n’est jamais arrivé à un règlement ». (Grassroots, July 27, 2016, no. 924, p. 12)

Dorothy a donc dû se débrouiller seule durant quelques années avant de rencontrer Élie Chartrand, un veuf, père d’une fille, Élise Chartrand-Déry, née d’un mariage précédent. Le couple s’est marié en 1963. Plusieurs détails de la présente biographie proviennent d’un article publié dans Le Franco par Élise Chartrand-Déry peu après la mort de sa belle-mère. Les deux étaient très intimement liées.

Lorsque les enfants furent élevés, Dorothy et Élie ont voyagé à travers le pays et les États-Unis. C’est alors que Dorothy a commencé à développer sa passion pour l’histoire et la recherche généalogique. Elle s’est beaucoup impliquée dans l’une des principales publications de la Saint Albert Historial Society intitulée « St. Albert – A Pictorial History » (1978) à laquelle elle a contribué de nombreuses illustrations et un nombre incalculable d’heures. Elle a également contribué à un autre ouvrage historique de la Société publié en deux volumes et intitulé « The Black Robe's vision: a history of St. Albert & district » (1985). Dorothy a aussi joué un rôle actif au sein de la Ex-Service Women’s Branch 215 de la Légion royale canadienne à Edmonton, dans laquelle elle occupait le grade de sergente d’armes.

Élie Chartrand est décédé en 1991. L’année suivante, Dorothy a aménagé dans une nouvelle demeure où elle est restée jusqu’en 2008. Elle a continué de voyager de temps à autre en Ontario où sa fille aînée Anita souffrait d’une tumeur au cerveau. Anita est morte en juillet 2008 à l’âge de 62 ans. Dorothy allait encore perdre une autre fille, Joyce, en novembre 2012. Elle résidait à Bayside, Nouvelle-Écosse.

Vers cette époque, la santé de Dorothy s’est dégradée rapidement. En décembre 2008, ses enfants l’ont placée à Kipnes, un centre de soins de longue durée pour anciens combattants situé à Edmonton, et c’est là qu’elle est décédée le 6 septembre 2013, à l’âge de 95 ans.

Durant sa vie, Dorothy Bellerose Chartrand a reçu plusieurs prix honorifiques pour sa vie exceptionnelle : le prix Esquao (2005) qui rend hommage à des femmes autochtones, ainsi que le Patron’s Award (2011). Elle était la troisième personne à se voir décerner ce prix par l’Aboriginal Veterans Society of Alberta en reconnaissance de son héroïsme. Puis, en 2013, elle a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II. Cette Médaille était décernée en guise de reconnaissance des contributions et les réalisations importantes de Canadiennes et de Canadiens. Durant l’année de cette célébration, 60,000 Canadiennes et Canadiens ont été reconnus pour leur mérite.

Lectures complémentaires

Audio/Vidéo

« A Living History of Métis Families as told by Dorothy Chartrand » (43 min. 39 sec.) (Consulté le 22 décembre 2016)

Dans ce vidéo, Dorothy Chartrand, une grand-mère métisse, raconte l’histoire des familles métisses depuis les années 1800 jusqu’à nos jours, alors que la politique et les changements sociaux ont eu un impact dans la vie des Métis. Elle raconte l’histoire de la relocation de sa famille, les effets des politiques foncières du gouvernement, et le rôle joué par les femmes métisses dans le commerce des fourrures et, plus tard, au niveau de la vie communautaire, contribuant ainsi au soutien de ces communautés. Ce vidéo fait aussi état des quelque 25 années de recherches effectuées par Dorothy dans les archives et les dossiers de la CBH et des registres paroissiaux, ce qui l’a amenée à mieux connaître l’histoire de sa famille et de la communauté de Saint-Albert, Alberta. Le réalisateur est redevable à Dorothy d’avoir partagé son histoire et celle de sa famille et de sa communauté.

Athabasca University. Alice B. Donahue Library and Archives. Audio Interview with Mrs. Dorothy Chartrand (Bellerose). Interviewed by Marilyn Mol, 1998-08-18. (20 min.) (Consulté le 22 décembre 2016)

Dans cet entretien, Mme Dorothy Chartrand raconte l’histoire de sa famille, dont celle de son grand-père Octave et de son fils Pierre, fondateurs de l’entrerprise Bellerose Livery Stable à Athabasca en 1898. Elle parle également du court séjour de sa famille à Colinton situé près de la Piste d’Athabasca Landing. Mme Chartrand mentionne encore les premiers colons et entreprises de la région d’Athabasca et parle des compagnies d’affrètement, d’exploitation forestière et de chemins de fer.

Notice biographique
Nom et prénom Chartrand, Dorothy
Aussi connu comme Bellerose, Dorothy
Nation Metis
Lieu de bande St Albert, AB
Sexe Female
Date de naissance 1918-08-15
Lieu de naissance St Albert, AB
Date de décès 2013-09-06
Proche parent Father: Pierre Bellerose, Mother: Justine Bellerose
Notes biographiques Chartrand was the 3rd person to receive the Patron's Award from the Aboriginal Veterans Society of Alberta., Chartrand finished the war as a sergeant and the newlywed wife of her first husband, Sgt. Robert Atchinson. She went on to become a historian, doing extensive genealogical research and contributing much to St. Albert’s history book, The Black Robe’s Vision., After completing Grade 12, she moved to Edmonton where she acquired a one-year commerical Business Course. She then worked with the Alberta government for 2.5 years before enlisting.
Conflit WWII
Unité du CEC C.W.A.C.
Grade militaire Sergeant
Date d’inscription 1941-09-01
Décédé à l’âge de 95
Autres liens http://www.stalbertgazette.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20111116/SAG0801/311169957/m-tis-society-honours-local-war-veteran, OBituary: http://www.legacy.com/obituaries/edmontonjournal/obituary.aspx?pid=166940035
Photo http://www.stalbertgazette.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20111116/SAG0801/311169957/m-tis-society-honours-local-war-veteran
Identificateur 2769