Greyeyes-Steele, David Georges

A grain farmer from Saskatchewan’s Muskeg Lake Cree Band, David George Greyeyes-Steele enlisted in 1940 at the age of 25 and served with the Saskatoon Light Infantry (M.G.) in Sicily, Italy, France, Belgium and the Netherlands. Three of his siblings also served in WWII, including Mary Greyeyes, the first Aboriginal woman to join the Canadian Women’s Army Corps.

Known for his skills in machinegun and rifle usage, David George Greyeyes-Steele was selected to join the instructional team for a machinegun reinforcement unit where he became a sergeant and gave advanced weaponry training to reinforcements arriving in Great Britain from Canada. After returning to Canada for five months to undergo officer training, he returned to Great Britain with the new rank of Lieutenant, the first Treaty Indian to be commissioned as an officer overseas.

While deployed overseas, Greyeyes-Steele continued his childhood passion for soccer by playing on the Canadian Machine Gun Reinforcement Unit soccer team and winning the Overseas Army Championship in 1942.

Taking on the role of platoon commander for the Saskatoon Light Infantry, Greyeyes-Steele served across multiple regions over 17 months – Italy, North Africa, France, Belgium and the Netherlands. While fighting in Italy, Lieutenant Greyeyes-Steele commanded a mortar platoon and earned the Greek Military Cross for valour (third class) for his role in supporting the Greek Mountain Brigade.

In September 1944, as the Allies were preparing to launch an attack toward Rimini, the Canadian Corps along with the Greek Mountain Brigade aimed to secure the right flank of the 1st Canadian Division across the Marano River. Lieutenant Greyeyes-Steele led one of four mortar platoons who cleared enemy positions along the route, at a cost of more than 100 casualties. After pushing forward for the entire week, and navigating a dangerously mined airfield, the combined Greek and Canadian forces finally raised both their respective flags at the town hall in Rimini. Greyeyes-Steele, along with 14 other Canadians, earned the Greek Military Cross for their efforts and valour during this operation.

Despite his already long service in Europe, Greyeyes-Steele would volunteer to serve his country again in Japan. However, with the Japanese announcement of surrender in August 1945, he was transferred to serve with the Canadian Occupation Force in Germany as an intelligence officer with the Royal Winnipeg Rifles. He would soon return home to Canada, having served in seven different European countries across six years in a variety of roles.

Returning home to the Muskeg Lake Reserve in Saskatchewan, Greyeyes-Steele continued farming and in 1946, married fellow veteran Flora Jeanne of the RCAF Women’s division, one of the first Aboriginal women to serve in the Canadian Air Force.

In 1958, he became chief of the reserve and two years later, he began a fifteen-year career with the federal public service, later becoming the first Aboriginal to hold the position of Regional Director in the Department of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada.

Following the war, Greyeyes-Steele had continued his involvement in athletics by playing on the Canadian soccer team for the Inter-Allied Games as well as coaching soccer in Marcelin, Saskatchewan. He also represented Saskatchewan in a match against Newcastle United in 1949 while the famed British club was on their North American summer tour.

In 1977, his athletic efforts were officially recognized as he was inducted into the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame. That same year he was also honoured by his country as he was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada. In 1993, he received the Saskatchewan Order of Merit.

Further reading

  • Brian Mlazgar and Holden Stoffel. Saskatchewan Sports: Lives Past and Present. University of Regina Press, 2007.
  • Jene M. Porter. Perspectives of Saskatchewan. University of Manitoba Press, 2009.
  • John Moses. Aboriginal Participation in Canadian Military Service: Historic and Contemporary Contexts. The Army Doctrine and Training Bulletin: Canada’s Professional Journal on Army
  • Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame. “David Greyeyes”. Retrieved Feb. 12, 2016.
  • Veterans Affairs Canada. “Greyeyes”. Retrieved Feb. 12, 2016
Biographical Record
Full Name Greyeyes-Steele, David Georges
Heritage Cree
Band Name Muskeg Lake Cree Nation
Band Location SK
Date of Death 1996-07-21
Conflict WWII
CEF Unit S.L.I.
Rank Lieutenant
Service History Intell. Officer RWR Occupation Force - 1945
Photo http://www.veterans.gc.ca/eng/remembrance/those-who-served/aboriginal-veterans/native-soldiers/conclusion
Identifier 2651

Greyeyes-Steele, David Georges

En 1940, un producteur de céréales de la bande des Cris de Muskeg Lake, en Saskatchewan, David George Greyeyes-Steele, alors âgé de 25 ans, s’est enrôlé dans le Saskatoon Light Infantry (SLI). Il allait servir en Sicile, en Italie, en France, en Belgique et dans les Pays-Bas. Deux de ses frères et une de ses sœurs, Mary Greyeyes, ont également servi durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Mary fut la première femme autochtone à se joindre au Service féminin de l’Armée canadienne.

Reconnu pour ses capacités dans l’utilisation des mitrailleuses et des carabines, David George Greyeyes-Steele a été choisi pour se joindre au personnel d’instruction d’une unité de mitrailleurs et de renfort. Devenu sergent, il a dispensé une formation poussée dans la manipulation des armes aux recrues qui arrivaient du Canada en Grande-Bretagne. Il a ensuite été muté au Canada pour suivre un programme de formation d’officier. Cinq mois plus, il est retourné en Grande-Bretagne avec le grade de lieutenant, devenant ainsi le premier Indien visé par un traité à recevoir une commission d’officier outre-mer.

Pendant qu’il était déployé à l’étranger, Greyeyes-Steele a pu poursuivre sa passion de jeunesse pour le soccer en jouant sur l’équipe du Canadian Machine Gun Reinforcement Unit qui, en 1942, a remporté le championnat de l’Armée outre-mer.

À titre de commandant de peloton au sein de la Saskatoon Light Infantry, Greyeyes-Steele a participé aux combats menés dans diverses régions pendant une période de 17 mois : Italie, Afrique du Nord, France, Belgique et Pays-Bas. Au cours de la campagne d’Italie, le lieutenant Greyeyes-Steele commandait un peloton de mortiers et a obtenu la Croix militaire grecque (troisième classe) pour sa bravoure lorsqu’il a apporté son aide à une Brigade de montagne grecque.

En septembre 1944, alors que les forces alliées se préparaient à lancer une offensive contre Rimini, le Corps canadien et la Brigade de montagne grecque ont reçu pour mission de protéger le flanc droit de la 1re Division canadienne en poste de l’autre côté de la rivière Marano. Le lieutenant Greyeyes-Steele a dirigé l’un des quatre pelotons de mortiers qui a réussi à déloger l’ennemi de ses positions le long de la route, au prix de plus de 100 victimes. Après s’être frayé un chemin durant une semaine entière, et avoir traversé un terrain d’aviation lourdement miné, les forces grecques et canadiennes ont finalement pu hisser leurs drapeaux respectifs au-dessus de l’hôtel de ville de Rimini. Greyeyes-Steele et 14 autres Canadiens se sont mérité la Croix militaire grecque pour leurs efforts et leur courage au cours de cette opération.

Malgré un service militaire déjà bien rempli en Europe, Greyeyes-Steele allait se porter volontaire une fois de plus pour servir son pays au Japon. Mais avec l’annonce de la capitulation du Japon en août 1945, il a été transféré à la Force d’occupation de l’Armée canadienne en Allemagne à titre d’officier de renseignement au sein des Royal Winnipeg Rifles. Il est revenu sous peu au Canada après avoir passé six années à remplir diverses fonctions dans sept pays européens différents.

De retour sur la réserve de Muskeg Lake, Saskatchewan, Greyeyes-Steele s’est de nouveau adonné à l’agriculture. Puis, en 1946, il a épousé Flora Jeanne, une ancienne compagne d’armes appartenant au Service féminin de l’ARC, et l’une des premières femmes autochtones à s’être enrôlée dans les Forces canadiennes de l’air.

En 1958, il a été choisi comme chef de la réserve et, deux ans plus tard, il a entamé une carrière de quinze ans dans la fonction publique fédérale, devenant éventuellement le premier autochtone à occuper le poste de directeur régional au sein du ministère des Affaires canadiennes et du Nord Canada.

Après la guerre, Greyeyes-Steele a continué son implication dans des activités sportives en jouant sur l’équipe canadienne de soccer lors des Jeux interalliés et en devenant l’entraîneur de l’équipe de soccer de Marcelin, en Saskatchewan. Il a également représenté la Saskatchewan dans une rencontre de soccer contre le Newcastle United lors de la tournée nord-américaine de cette célèbre équipe anglaise au cours de l’été 1949.

En 1977, son dévouement pour le sport a été officiellement reconnu lorsqu’il a été intronisé au Temple de la renommée des sports de la Saskatchewan. La même année, son pays l’a également honoré en le nommant membre de l’Ordre du Canada. Puis, en 1993, il s’est vu décerner l’Ordre du mérite de la Saskatchewan.

Lectures complémentaires

  • Brian Mlazgar and Holden Stoffel. Saskatchewan Sports: Lives Past and Present. University of Regina Press, 2007.
  • Jene M. Porter. Perspectives of Saskatchewan. University of Manitoba Press, 2009.
  • John Moses. Participation des Autochtones au service militaire canadien : Contextes historique et contemporain. Paru dans : The Army Doctrine and Training Bulletin: Canada’s Professional Journal on Army [I may have lost a link to this, so here it is just in case:] http://www.museedelhistoire.ca/apprendre/recherche/ressources-pour-chercheurs/articles/participation-des-autochtones-au-service-militaire-canadien/
  • Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame. “David Greyeyes”. Consulté le 12 févr. 2016.
  • Anciens Combattants Canada. “Greyeyes”. Consulté le 12 févr. 2016
Notice biographique
Nom et prénom Greyeyes-Steele, David Georges
Nation Cree
Nom de bande Muskeg Lake Cree Nation
Lieu de bande SK
Date de décès 1996-07-21
Conflit WWII
Unité du CEC S.L.I.
Grade militaire Lieutenant
Historique de service Intell. Officer RWR Occupation Force - 1945
Photo http://www.veterans.gc.ca/eng/remembrance/those-who-served/aboriginal-veterans/native-soldiers/conclusion
Identificateur 2651