Byce, Charles Henry

Charles Henry Byce at age 24. Source

Charles Henry (Charlie) Byce is one of the few Canadians and the only member of his Regiment to be awarded the Military Medal (MM) for gallantry and valour together with the Distinguished Conduct Medal (DCM), an award for bravery second only to the Victoria Cross. His father, Henry (Harry) Byce, was a veteran of the First World War and he also earned the DCM and the Médaille Militaire, the French equivalent to the MM and that country’s second highest valour award. This feat earned them a unique place in Canadian history as the only father and son duo to receive both these honours during two world wars. Today, both father and son’s medals are on display in Ottawa’s National War Museum.

Charlie Byce was born in Chapleau, northeastern Ontario, on March 8, 1916. He was the son of Louisa Saylors, a Cree from Moose Factory, Ontario, and Henry Byce, a non-Indigenous man from Westmeath. After overcoming the injustices and abuses experienced in the residential school system of his area, he struggled to be enlisted in the Canadian military because he was considered small at 5-foot-6 and 125 pounds. Charlie finally joined the Lake Superior Regiment (LSR) or "Lake Sups"– now known as the Lake Superior Scottish Regiment – sometime around 1940 and embarked on a remarkable journey.

This regiment had been mobilized as the Lake Superior Regiment, CASF, on May 24, 1940, and trained in Camp Borden. Then, for a time, the LSR secured the defence of Saint John, New Brunswick. A special group of LSRs, called the “Q Force” even trained for an attack on the French Islands of Saint Pierre and Miquelon. On January 26, 1942, the Regiment was redesignated the Lake Superior Regiment (Motor) and given a fleet of Universal Carriers. Subsequent training delayed their departure for Europe, but when the Regiment finally embarked for Britain on August 22, 1942, it had more fighting vehicles and a greater assembly of hard-hitting weapons than any other Canadian infantry unit in history. On July 20, 1944, the LSR (Motor) landed in Normandy, France, as part of the 4th Armoured Brigade. It immediately assisted in the difficult task of pushing back and surrounding the German armies in France. For the next ten months, the LSR (M) fought through France, Belgium, Holland and into Germany. In total the Regiment suffered 775 casualties with 199 dead. For their bravery, the men of the LSR (Motor) were awarded 71 decorations, 2 of which were awarded to Charlie Bryce.

Byce earned his first decoration for valour, the MM, in the Netherlands in January 1945. By that time, the Allies had established themselves in France and Belgium and, in another month, would launch an offensive for a final push over the Rhine into Germany. Before dawn on January 21, Acting Corporal Byce and 23 other Lake Sups set off in row-boats to cross the Maas River. Their mission was to sneak behind enemy lines and bring back German prisoners in order to gather information on enemy units. Byce headed a five-man team charged with providing cover for the reconnaissance group. Soon after it had landed on enemy territory, the reconnaissance group was fired upon from three German positions. Byce personally located two of them and silenced them with grenades. He also managed to obtain information from a German prisoner before the group started back. The official history of the regiment describes the events that followed:

By this time the sky was filled with baleful red and yellow flares, and enemy machine-guns and light mortars were spurting into action… As the patrol hurried along the dyke several grenades hurtled through the air. Fortunately they exploded harmlessly... but they did serve to reveal the location of two more enemy soldiers. Again Corporal Byce took the initiative. He charged the German dugout and into it hurled a 36 [calibre] grenade.

The patrol escaped safely and, afterward, Byce became one of more than 1,200 Canadians to receive the MM. His citation commended the corporal for his "coolness" and "devotion to duty" and credited him with the mission's success.

Some six weeks later, Byce became one of only 162 Canadians to earn the DCM during the Second World War. The Rhineland Campaign was well under way, but enemy defences still blocked the Allied path into Germany. This was the enemy's last major line of defence and it would not be broken easily. Counter-attacks were fierce and numerous. On March 2, 1945, the Lake Sups engaged in the most difficult fighting the regiment had known. At 4 a.m., Acting Sergeant Byce and the rest of C Company set out to occupy a group of buildings south of the Hochwald Forest. By 6 a.m., they had accomplished their goal, but the day's first light revealed their location to the enemy. C Company was bombarded with shells and mortar. All of its tanks were destroyed and casualties mounted quickly. The victims included every officer, even the company commander. So at this point, Charlie Byce was in charge. Meanwhile, four enemy tanks were approaching. Byce personally destroyed a Tiger tank with an anti-tank gun and directed fire that routed German infantry following the tank. But he had no anti-tank ammunition left when more Tigers moved in. The regimental history explains what happened next:

In the confusion and general disorder the enemy closed in upon C Company's position. Grimly the Lake Sups held on, the perimeter of their defences becoming smaller and smaller, and their escape corridor to the rear, narrower and narrower… With ferocity and courage [Sergeant] Byce, now commanding the remnants of C Company, fought as long as he could; then gathering what few men he was able to find about him he made his way back through the bullet-strewn escape alley.

It was 3 p.m. when Byce ordered the retreat of his men. He stayed behind his group, sniping at enemy infantry so they could not trace the company's withdrawal and evacuation of their wounded. He managed to pick off 18 Germans and save more than a dozen of his company comrades, including his best friend, Francis “Popeye” Richard. Following his actions, he soon became something of a legend in his Regiment. Again, his citation was impressive:

The magnificent courage and fighting spirit displayed by this NCO [non-commissioned officer] when faced with almost insuperable odds are beyond all praise. His gallant stand, without adequate weapons and with a bare handful of men against hopeless odds will remain, for all time, an outstanding example to all ranks of the Regiment.

Charlie Byce and the Lake Sups had advanced into Germany by the time the war in Europe ended on May 8, 1945. The following month, he was sent to England, before returning home to Canada in September 1945.

Charlie had married Frances Antoinette DeGrasse in 1941 in Saint John, New Brunswick. The couple had at least 7 children: Maureen (b. in Saint John, 1942), Charles Francis (b. 1946), Katherine Ann (b. 1948), Richard Gerald (b. 1949), Janice Marie (b. 1951), David Henry (b. 1953) and Neil Gordon (b. 1957). Except for Maureen, all of his children were born in Espanola, Ontario, where Charlie worked at a paper mill after the war. It is said that Charlie never talked about his overseas heroic actions at war. He passed away on November 30, 1994, in Newmarket, Ontario, and is buried in Pefferlaw, Ontario. His wartime exploits were largely left unknown before 2016 except to by those few surviving men who served alongside him in combat.

Further reading

Photos

In Germany, in April 1945, a group from the Lake Superior Regiment display the enemy flag they had captured. (Alexander Stirton / Department of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-137250) Source

A bronze and granite monument unveiled at Chapleau's Royal Canadian Legion on September 17, 2016 commemorates Charles Henry Byce as the most decorated Indigenous soldier in the Second World War. The monument was created by Sudbury sculptor Tyler Fauvelle. Roger Chum, President of the Ontario Native Education Counselling Association, was deeply involved in the project, along with the Chapleau Cree First Nation, the Royal Canadian Legion, and the Township of Chapleau. Source

Biographical Record
Full Name Byce, Charles Henry
Heritage Cree
Band Location Moose Factory - James Bay, ON
Birth Date 1917-01-01
Birthplace Chapleau, ON
Biographical Notes Byce was the son of Henry Byce and Louisa Byce (nee Saylors) Henry Byce had fought in WWI and earned two medals: The DCM plus France's Medaille militaire. Henry was non-native, while Louisa was a Cree from Moose Factory, ON. Cf. https://www.veterans.gc.ca/public/pages/remembrance/those-who-served/aboriginal-veterans/native-soldiers/natives_e.pdf
Conflict WWII
CEF Unit Lake Superior (Motor) Regiment
Rank Sergeant
Medal awarded (MM) (DCM)
Medal notes Byce was one of only 162 Canadians to earn the DCM. Cf. https://www.veterans.gc.ca/public/pages/remembrance/those-who-served/aboriginal-veterans/native-soldiers/natives_e.pdf
Other links https://www.veterans.gc.ca/public/pages/remembrance/those-who-served/aboriginal-veterans/native-soldiers/natives_e.pdf
Photo https://www.veterans.gc.ca/public/pages/remembrance/those-who-served/aboriginal-veterans/native-soldiers/natives_e.pdf
Identifier 2256

Byce, Charles Henry

Charles Henry Byce à l’âge de 24 ans. Source

Charles Henry (Charlie) Byce est l’un des rares Canadiens et le seul membre de son régiment ayant reçu à la fois la Médaille militaire (M.M.) pour bravoure et la Médaille de Conduite distinguée (D.C.M.), la deuxième décoration en importance après la Croix Victoria. Son père, Henry (Harry) Byce, un ancien combattant de la Première Guerre mondiale, s’était vu lui aussi attribuer la D.C.M. et la Médaille militaire de la France. Cette dernière était l’équivalent de la M.M. et la deuxième plus haute distinction pour bravoure décernée en France. Cet exploit leur a valu une place unique dans l’histoire canadienne car ils constituent le seul duo père-fils à s’être mérité ces deux mêmes honneurs au cours de deux grandes guerres. Aujourd’hui, les médailles des deux hommes sont exposées au Musée canadien de la guerre à Ottawa.

Charles Byce est né le 8 mars 1916 à Chapleau, au nord-est de l’Ontario. Il était le fils de Louisa Saylors, une Crie de Moose Factory, Ontario, et de Henry Byce, un Blanc de Westmeath. Après avoir surmonté les injustices et les abus du système des pensionnats indiens de sa région, il a dû se battre pour s’enrôler dans l’Armée canadienne en raison de sa petite taille (il mesurait 1,67 mètre et pesait 57 kg). Vers 1940, Charlie Byce a finalement réussi à joindre les rangs du Lake Superior Regiment (LSR) ou « Lake Sups », aujourd’hui connu sous le nom de Lake Superior Scottish Regiment. Il allait par la suite vivre un parcours remarquable.

Son régiment fut mobilisé le 24 mai 1940 sous le nom de Lake Superior Regiment, CASF, et le camp d’entraînement se trouvait à Borden, en Ontario. Puis, pendant un certain temps, le LSR a assuré la défense de Saint-Jean, Nouveau-Brunswick. Un détachement spécial du LSR appelé la « Q Force » s’est même entraîné pour une attaque sur les îles françaises de Saint-Pierre et Miquelon. Le 26 janvier 1942, le Régiment devint le Lake Superior Regiment (motorisé) et reçu une flotte de véhicules de transport tout usage (« Universal Carriers »). Un nouvel entraînement retarda leur départ pour l’Europe mais, lorsque le régiment s’est finalement embarqué pour l’Angleterre le 22 août 1942, il disposait du plus grand nombre de véhicules de combat et d’armes à fort impact que n’importe quelle autre unité d’infanterie dans l’histoire canadienne. Le 20 juillet 1944, le LSR (motorisé), qui faisait alors partie de la 4e Brigade armée, a débarqué en Normandie, France, et s’est immédiatement engagé dans la mission difficile de repousser et d’encercler les troupes allemandes en France. Durant les dix prochains mois, le LSR (motorisé) a combattu en France, en Belgique, en Hollande et en Allemagne. Au total, le régiment a subi 775 pertes dont 199 morts. Pour leur bravoure, les hommes du LSR (motorisé) ont reçu 71 décorations, 2 desquelles ont été décernées à Charlie Byce.

Byce a gagné sa première décoration pour bravoure, la M.M., aux Pays-Bas en janvier 1945. À cette époque, les Alliés avaient établi leurs positions en France et en Belgique et, un mois plus tard, ils allaient lancer l'offensive finale de la traversée du Rhin pour envahir l'Allemagne. Avant l'aube du 21 janvier, le caporal suppléant Byce et 23 autres membres du Lake Sups partirent en chaloupe à rames pour traverser la rivière Maas. Leur mission consistait à s'infiltrer derrière les lignes ennemies et à ramener des prisonniers allemands afin d’obtenir de l’information sur les unités ennemies. Byce dirigeait une équipe de cinq hommes chargée de protéger le groupe de reconnaissance. Peu après leur accostage en territoire ennemi, le groupe de reconnaissance a subi le tir de trois positions allemandes. Byce lui-même localisa deux d'entre elles et les réduisit au silence avec des grenades. Il a également réussi à obtenir des renseignements d'un prisonnier allemand avant de repartir. L'histoire officielle du régiment fait état de ce qui arriva par la suite :

Les fusées rouges et jaunes se mirent alors à strier le ciel, et les mitrailleuses et les mortiers légers de l'ennemi entrèrent en action. ... Pendant que les patrouilleurs couraient le long de la digue, plusieurs grenades explosèrent dans l'air. Heureusement, elles ne firent pas de dégâts ... mais elles permirent de révéler la présence de deux autres soldats ennemis. Encore une fois le caporal Byce prit l'initiative. Il chargea l'abri allemand et y lança une grenade de calibre 36.

La patrouille s’est échappée saine et sauve et, par la suite, Byce devint l'un des quelque 1 200 Canadiens qui se méritèrent la M.M. Dans la citation, le caporal fut loué pour son « sang-froid » et son « dévouement » et on lui attribua le mérite du succès de la mission.

Environ six semaines plus tard, Byce devint l'un de seulement 162 Canadiens à recevoir la D.C.M. au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. La campagne du Rhin était bien engagée, mais les défenses ennemies bloquaient encore la route des Alliés vers l’Allemagne. C'était la dernière ligne de défense importante de l'ennemi et elle n'allait pas céder facilement. Les contre-attaques furent violentes et nombreuses. Le 2 mars 1945, le Lake Sups engagea le combat le plus difficile de l’histoire du régiment. À 4 heures du matin, le sergent suppléant Byce et le reste de la compagnie C partirent en vue d'occuper un groupe de bâtiments au sud de la forêt d'Hochwald. Dès 6 heures, ils avaient atteint leur objectif, mais les premières lueurs du matin avaient révélé leur position à l'ennemi. La compagnie C fut bombardée par des obus et des mortiers qui détruisirent tous les chars d'assaut et le nombre des victimes grimpa rapidement. Tous les officiers, y compris le commandant de la compagnie, furent du nombre. Le sergent Byce se retrouvait ainsi à la tête de sa compagnie. Pendant ce temps, quatre chars d'assaut ennemis faisaient leur approche. Byce détruit lui-même un char Tigre à l’aide d’un canon antichar et dirigea le feu contre l’infanterie allemande qui suivait le char. Mais il ne lui restait plus de munitions antichars lorsque d’autres chars Tigre sont apparus. L'histoire régimentaire décrit ce qui arriva ensuite :

Dans la confusion et le désordre général, l'ennemi s'approchait de la position de la compagnie C. Avec acharnement, le Lake Sups tint bon, le périmètre de leurs défenses se rétrécissait et leur corridor pour retourner à l'arrière devenait de plus en plus étroit. ... Avec férocité et courage, [le sergent] Byce, qui commandait maintenant les restes de la compagnie C, combattit aussi longtemps qu'il put; puis réunissant les quelques hommes qui restaient, il se fraya un chemin à travers le sentier de retour criblé de balles.

Il était 15 heures lorsque Byce ordonna la retraite de ses hommes. Il demeura derrière son groupe, tirant sur l'infanterie ennemie pour protéger la retraite de sa compagnie et l’évacuation des blessés. Il a réussi à tuer 18 soldats allemand et à sauver plus d’une douzaine d’hommes de ses camarades de compagnie dont son meilleur ami, Francis « Popeye » Richard. Suite à ses actions, Byce est rapidement devenu une figure de légende au sein de son régiment. Encore une fois, sa citation était impressionnante :

Le magnifique courage et l'esprit combatif de ce sous-officier face à des forces supérieures dépassent toute louange. Sa brave résistance, sans armes adéquates et avec une poignée d'hommes dans une situation désespérée restera, pour toujours, un excellent exemple pour les hommes de tous les grades du régiment.

Byce et le Lake Sups avaient réussi à avancer jusqu'en Allemagne lorsque la guerre en Europe prit fin le 8 mai 1945. Il fut envoyé en Angleterre le mois suivant et revint au Canada en septembre 1945.

En 1941, Charlie Byce avait épousé Frances Antoinette DeGrasse à Saint-John, Nouveau-Brunswick. Le couple a eu au moins 7 enfants : Maureen (née à Saint-Jean, 1942), Charles Francis (né 1946), Katherine Ann (née 1948), Richard Gerald (né 1949), Janice Marie (née 1951), David Henry (né 1953) et Neil Gordon (né 1957). À l’exception de Maureen, tous ses enfants sont nés à Espanola, en Ontario, où Charlie avait trouvé de l’emploi dans un moulin à papier après la guerre. Il est dit que Charlie n’évoquait jamais ses aventures d’outre-mer durant la guerre. Il est décédé le 30 novembre 1994 à Newmarket, Ontario, et il est inhumé dans le cimetière de Pefferlaw, Ontario. Ces exploits de guerre sont demeurés largement méconnus avant 2016 sauf pour les quelques survivants qui ont combattu à ses côtés.

Lectures complémentaires

Photos

En Allemagne, en avril 1945, un groupe du Lake Superior Regiment montre le drapeau ennemi qu'ils ont capturé. (Alexander Stirton / Ministère de la Défense nationale / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / PA-167250) Source

Un monument de bronze et de granit dévoilé le 17 septembre 2016 devant les bureaux de la Légion royale canadienne situés à Chapleau commémore la mémoire de Charles Henry Byce, le soldat autochtone le plus décoré de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Ce monument est l’œuvre de Tyler Fauvelle, un sculpteur de Sudbury. Roger Chum, président de l’Ontario Native Education Counselling Association, s’était fortement impliqué dans le projet, ainsi que la Première Nation des Cris de Chapleau, la Légion royale canadienne et le canton de Chapleau. Source

Notice biographique
Nom et prénom Byce, Charles Henry
Nation Cree
Lieu de bande Moose Factory - James Bay, ON
Date de naissance 1917-01-01
Lieu de naissance Chapleau, ON
Notes biographiques Byce was the son of Henry Byce and Louisa Byce (nee Saylors) Henry Byce had fought in WWI and earned two medals: The DCM plus France's Medaille militaire. Henry was non-native, while Louisa was a Cree from Moose Factory, ON. Cf. https://www.veterans.gc.ca/public/pages/remembrance/those-who-served/aboriginal-veterans/native-soldiers/natives_e.pdf
Conflit WWII
Unité du CEC Lake Superior (Motor) Regiment
Grade militaire Sergeant
Décorations décernées (MM) (DCM)
Notes sur la décoration Byce was one of only 162 Canadians to earn the DCM. Cf. https://www.veterans.gc.ca/public/pages/remembrance/those-who-served/aboriginal-veterans/native-soldiers/natives_e.pdf
Autres liens https://www.veterans.gc.ca/public/pages/remembrance/those-who-served/aboriginal-veterans/native-soldiers/natives_e.pdf
Photo https://www.veterans.gc.ca/public/pages/remembrance/those-who-served/aboriginal-veterans/native-soldiers/natives_e.pdf
Identificateur 2256