Smith, Alexander George Jr.

Two sons of Chief Alexander Smith joined the 20th Battalion and both became officers, drawing upon their years of militia experience. Here members of the 20th battalion drill at Exhibition Camp in Toronto before going overseas. (John Boyd / Library and Archives Canada / PA-61412) Source

Alexander George Edwin and Charles Denton Smith

Alexander George Edwin and Charles Denton Smith, both sons of Alexander George Smith, Cayuga chief on the Six Nations reservation near Brantford, Ontario, served overseas as infantry officers during WWI and were awarded the Military Cross (MC) for conspicuous gallantry in action. The MC was similar to the Military Medal (MM), except that it was reserved for commissioned officers up to the rank of captain and, later, major.

Alexander George Edwin Smith was born on the Six Nations reservation near Brantford on August 14, 1880. It was also there that he married Mabel Phoebe Doxtater on December 9, 1908. The couple had seven children including Harold J. (1912-1980), a Hollywood actor better known as Jay Silverheels and best remembered for his role of "Tonto’, the faithful Indian companion of the ‘Lone Ranger’. As for his younger brother Charles Denton, he was born on the Six Nations reserve on October 2, 1893.

Like many members of that community, both brothers served in the local militia, the 37th Regiment (Haldimand Rifles) that made its annual summer trek to Niagara Camp in pre-war years. Alexander served for some 18 years while Charles served for 10 years, and both had risen to the rank of Captain.

Alexander was among the first to enlist in Toronto on November 13, 1914, just three months after the outbreak of the war. He joined the 20th Battalion (Central Ontario Regiment, D Company) of the Canadian Expeditionary Force (CEF). Because of his previous experience as an officer in the Haldimand Rifles, he was immediately commissioned as a Lieutenant in the Battalion. At the time of his enlistment, he was working as a contractor and residing in Sixty Nine (69) Corners, located south of Hamilton, Ontario.

The 20th battalion, which had been mobilized just one week before he enlisted, did much of its recruiting from various militia regiments, including the 37th. Altogether, 4310 officers and men served in this battalion during the war. Of these, 45 officers received the Military Cross. Upon its arrival in France on September 15, 1915, the battalion was assigned to the 4th Brigade, 2nd Canadian Division. The unit fought in France and Flanders throughout the war. It’s most notable actions include the Somme, Vimy Ridge, Hill 70, Passchendaele, Amiens, the advance along the Scarpe, Canal du Nord, Canal de l’Escault and the advance to Mons in the Last Hundred Days.

Alexander earned his Military Cross in France in September 1916 during the second Allied assault on the Somme. He was soon promoted to the rank of Captain put in command of No. 4 Company, a specialty unit charged with finding suitable locations for stockpiling ammunition. On September 26th, he led his company in an attack in support of the 8th Battalion in Tara Valley. Along with a scouting unit, his company was the first to move forward. The Battalion’s war diary for that day records: “A 5pm our Bn received order to move forward… The progress was somewhat slow on the left owing to MG fire from Stuff Redoubt. At about 6:30 pm our No 4 Coy was sent up in close support of the 8th Bn.” Smith and his company moved forward against German fire from a well defended position. Smith’s citation explains what happened on the second day of the assault. Though wounded, “he proceeded with a party of bombers and captured an enemy trench and 50 prisoners, displaying the greatest courage throughout. He was twice buried by shells but stuck to his post."

Throughout their three weeks in action on the Somme, the 20th Battalion suffered 430 casualties, including 111 dead. Captain Alexander Smith was among the wounded. Having been evacuated to England to recover, he wrote a letter home to his father which read in part: “You may tell Mabel (his wife) that I was awarded the Military Cross for bravery and gallantry on the field of the greatest battle the world has ever known. Don’t forget to tell Donnie and Harold what God had enabled me, their papa, to go through and do.” He concluded his letter lamenting that his mother had not lived to see him do well in battle and not be thought a coward. His mother, Mary Hill, had died on January 12, 1916. Due to the severity of his wounds, he was not returned to the front, but was sent back to the Reserve Depot of his unit. However, in April 1917, he fell ill and was invalidated home soon after.

The following October, he was posted to a training camp at Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario. Here, he served as the Assistant Adjutant General. Originally constructed in pre-war years as a summer camp to hold 1,200 campers, Niagara-on-the-Lake was serving as a training camp for Polish Canadian and American recruits for General Józef Haller’s new Polish “Blue Army” which formally became part of the French Army in Europe. The site accommodated more than 4,300 recruits by November 1917. For his services to the Blue Army, Alexander Smith was one of only five Canadians to be awarded the “Order of the Black Star of Poland” on March 19, 1920.

Despite having been wounded three times during the war, Captain Smith returned to his home in Hagersville on the Grand River Reserve in July 1918, where he resumed his civilian occupation as a contractor and later became a Six Nations chief. Like most soldiers, he told few tales about his time in war. He died of a heart attack in Buffalo, New York, on August 21, 1954 and is buried in the Saint Paul Anglican Church Cemetery, Middleport, Ontario.

Though Alexander’s younger brother, Charles Denton Smith, also won the Military Cross, little is known of him. He seems to have enlisted first with the 114th Battalion, also known as the Brock Rangers, in Cayuga, Ontario, on November 12, 1915. But then, on the same day, he enlisted with the 18th Battalion, CEF. Like his brother, because of his experience in the Haldimand Rifles, he was given the rank of Lieutenant upon enlisting and soon rose to the rank of Captain. At the time of his enlistment Charles was married and was working as a carpenter in nearby Oshweken. It appears that he also worked for some time as a recruiting officer on the Six Nations reserve.

Charles earned his MC in Frameries, a small municipality located south-west of Mons, Belgium, on November 9, 1918, two days before the war ended. The Allies had finally broken through the enemy defences along the Western Front and were advancing steadily eastward. Charles’ battalion was fighting its way toward Mons. According to his citation, he "led his platoon forward with such rapidity that he surprised a party of [enemy] sappers preparing to blow up a road mine." The party was stopped as the fuse was being ignited. Charles also personally captured an enemy machine-gun from its crew later that day. The 18th Battalion arrived in Mons November 11, 1918, officially the last day of the war. Captain Charles Smith returned safely to Canada six months later. He received his Military Cross from the hands of the Prince of Wales during his visit to Canada in October 1919. He died on June 5, 1960.

Though many aboriginal veterans may lay claim to having received more decorations than the Smith brothers during WWI, including Corporal Francis Pegahmagabow who is often cited as the most highly decorated Aboriginal veteran of that war having received the Military Medal with two bars, Alexander and Charles Smith both received the Military Cross which is the highest individual award attributed to any aboriginal veteran during the Great War, and is second only in order to the Distinguished Service Order and the Victoria Cross.

Further reading

Biographical Record
Full Name Smith, Alexander George Jr.
Heritage Haudenosaunee
Band Name Cayuga Nation - Six Nation
Band Location Six Nations of the Grand River, ON
Biographical Notes Son of Six Nations Cayuga chief, Alexander George Smith, and brother of Charles Smith, who also earned a MC, Smith later became Chief. Cf. Native soldiers, Foreign battlefields, p. 13
Conflict WWI
CEF Unit 20th Bn, (Can.), 37th Haldimand Rifles 17 yrs.
Rank Lieutenant, Captain
Previous Military Experience Haldimand Rifles
Date of Enlistment 1914-01-01
Medal awarded (MC)
Medal notes In Oct. 1917, Smith was posted to a training camp at Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON. Many soldiers from Poland trained there. Smith had been promoted captain and served as adjutant, the commanding officer's assistant. When the war ended, Smith was named an Officer of the Order of the Black Star, a Polish order, for his distinguised service at the camp. Cf. Native soldiers, Foreign battlefields, p. 13
Identifier 1389

Smith, Alexander George Jr.

Two sons of Chief Alexander Smith joined the 20th Battalion and both became officers, drawing upon their years of militia experience. Here members of the 20th battalion drill at Exhibition Camp in Toronto before going overseas. (John Boyd / Library and Archives Canada / PA-61412) Source

Alexander George Edwin et Charles Denton Smith

Alexander George Edwin et Charles Denton Smith, tous deux fils d’Alexander George Smith, Chef des Cayugas de la réserve des Premières Nations située près de Brantford, Ontario, ont servi outremer comme officiers d’infanterie durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, et tous deux se sont mérités la Croix militaire (C.M.) en reconnaissance de leurs services distingués. La C.M. est semblable à la Médaille militaire (M.M.) sauf qu’elle est réservée aux officiers de grades ne dépassant pas le grade de capitaine et, éventuellement celui de major.

Alexander George Edwin Smith est né le 14 août 1880 sur la réserve des Six Nations près de Brantford. Et c’est là qu’il a épousé Mabel Phoebe Doxtater le 9 décembre 1908. Le couple a donné naissance à 7 enfants dont Harold J. (1912-1980), un acteur hollywoodien mieux connu sous le nom de Jay Silverheels qui a joué le rôle de « Tonto », le fidèle compagnon amérindien du héros de la série télévisée « The Lone Ranger ». Quant à son jeune frère, Charles Denton, il est né le 2 octobre 1893 sur la réserve des Six Nations.

À l’instar de plusieurs membres de cette communauté, les deux frères s’étaient enrôlés dans la milice locale, soit le 37e Régiment (Haldimand Rifles) qui se rassemblait chaque été avant la guerre au camp Niagara. Alexander a servi 18 années au sein de ce régiment alors que Charles y a servi 10 ans. Tous deux s’étaient élevés au grade de capitaine.

Alexander comptait parmi les premiers à s’enrôler dans l’armée à Toronto le 13 novembre 1914, trois mois à peine après le déclenchement de la guerre. Il faisait alors partie du 20e Bataillon (Compagnie D du Central Ontario Regiment) du Corps expéditionnaire canadien (CEC). À cause de son expérience antérieure comme officier dans les Haldimand Rifles, il fut immédiatement promu au grade de lieutenant dans le bataillon. Au moment de son enrôlement, il résidait à Sixty Nine (69) Corners au sud de la ville de Hamilton, Ontario, où il travaillait comme entrepreneur.

Le 20e Bataillon, qui avait été mobilisé une semaine à peine avant qu’il ne s’enrôle, a effectué la majeure partie de son recrutement au sein des divers régiments de la milice, y compris le 37e. Au total, 4,310 officiers et soldats ont servi dans ce bataillon durant la guerre et, parmi ceux-ci, 45 officiers ont reçu la Croix militaire. Lors de son arrivée en France le 15 septembre 1915, le bataillon a été affecté à la 4e Brigade, 2e Division canadienne. L’unité s’est battu en France et dans les Flandres jusqu’à la fin de la guerre. Parmi ses exploits les plus notoires, mentionnons les batailles de la Somme, de la crête de Vimy, la Côte 70, Passchendaele, Amiens, la Scarpe, le Canal du Nord, le Canal de l’Escault et l’avancée vers Mons durant les Cent derniers jours.

C’est en France, durant la seconde attaque des Alliés à la Somme en septembre 1916, qu’Alexander a gagné sa Croix militaire. Promu depuis peu au grade de capitaine, on lui confia le commandement de la Compagnie no 4, une unité spéciale chargée de repérer des emplacements appropriés pour le stockage des munitions. Le 26 septembre, il a dirigé sa compagnie dans une attaque pour soutenir le 8e Bataillon dans la vallée de Tara. Avec une unité d’éclaireurs, sa compagnie fut la première à s’avancer. Le journal de guerre de son bataillon raconte ce qui s’est passé au cours de cette journée : « À 17 heures, notre bataillon a reçu l’ordre d’avancer… La progression à gauche a été plutôt lente à cause des tirs de mitraillettes provenant de la Redoute Stuff. Vers 18 h 30, notre Compagnie no 4 a été envoyée tout près pour soutenir le 8e Bataillon. » Smith et sa Compagnie se sont avancés vers la ligne de tir des Allemands qui occupaient une position bien défendue. La citation de Smith explique ce qui est arrivé le second jour de l’attaque. Bien que blessé, « il avança avec un détachement de bombardiers, s'empara d'une tranchée ennemie et fit 50 prisonniers, faisant preuve d'un courage extraordinaire. Il reçut des avalanches d'obus à deux reprises, mais il resta à son poste. »

Au cours de ses trois semaines de combat sur la Somme, le 20e Bataillon a subi 430 pertes dont 111 morts. Le capitaine Alexander Smith était du nombre des blessés. Ayant été évacué en Angleterre pour récupérer, il a écrit une lettre à son père dont voici un extrait : « Tu peux dire à Mable (son épouse) que l’on m’a décerné la Croix militaire pour bravoure et conduite distinguée durant la plus grande bataille que le monde ait jamais connue. N’oublie pas de dire à Donnie et à Harold ce qui Dieu m’a permis, à moi leur papa, d’endurer et d’accomplir. » Il a conclu sa lettre en disant regretter que sa mère n’avait pas survécu assez longtemps pour voir son succès au combat et qu’il n’a pas fait preuve de lâcheté. Sa mère, Mary Hill, était décédée le 12 janvier 1916. En raison de la gravité de ses blessures, il n’est pas retourné au front mais fut envoyé au dépôt de réserve de son unité. Il tomba toutefois malade en avril 1917, fut déclaré invalide et rentra au Canada.

En octobre 1917, il a été affecté à un à un camp d'entraînement à Niagara-on-the-Lake, en Ontario. Ici, il a été nommé adjudant-général adjoint. Construit avant la guerre comme camp d’été pour recevoir jusqu’à 1,200 campeurs, Niagara-on-the-Lake a servi de camp d’entraînement pour des recrus polonais d’origine canadienne et américaine destinés à l’Armée bleue du général polonais Józef Haller, laquelle armée fut officiellement intégrée dans l’armée française en Europe. Dès novembre 1917, le site accueillait plus de 4,300 recrus. Pour les services qu’il a rendus à l’Armée bleue, Alexander Smith fut l’un des seuls cinq Canadiens à être nommés officiers de « l’Ordre de l’Étoile noire de la Pologne » le 19 mars 1920.

Malgré le fait d’avoir été blessé à trois reprises durant la guerre, le capitaine est retourné chez lui à Hagarsville, sur la réserve des Six Nations en juillet 1918. Là, il reprit son occupation d’entrepreneur et devint éventuellement Chef des Six Nations. Comme la plupart des soldats, il parlait peu de ses exploits durant la guerre. Il est mort d’une crise cardiaque le 21 août 1954 à Buffalo, New York, et est inhumé dans le cimetière de Saint Paul Anglican Church, à Middleport, Ontario.

Bien que le frère cadet d’Alexander, Charles Denton Smith, ait également reçu la Croix militaire, l’on sait peu de choses de lui. Le 12 novembre 1915, il semble s’être enrôlé d’abord dans le 114e Bataillon, connu aussi sous le nom de Brock Rangers, à Cayuga, Ontario. Mais, le même jour, il joint les rangs du 18e Bataillon, CEC. Tout comme son frère, son expérience dans les Haldimand Rifles lui a valu dès le départ le grade de lieutenant. Peu après, il fut promu au grade de capitaine. Au moment de s’enrôler, Charles était marié et travaillait comme charpentier à Oshweken situé tout près. Il semblerait aussi qu’il ait travaillé pendant un certain temps comme officier de recrutement sur la réserve des Six Nations.

Charles gagna sa Croix militaire à Frameries, une petite municipalité située au sud-ouest de Mons, en Belgique, le 9 novembre 1918, soit deux jours avant la fin de la guerre. Les Alliés avaient finalement réussi à percer les défenses ennemies le long du front occidental et avançaient résolument vers l'est. Le bataillon de Charles avançait vers Mons. Selon sa citation, « il dirigea l'avance de son peloton avec une telle rapidité qu'il surprit un groupe de sapeurs [ennemis] qui s'apprêtaient à faire sauter une mine sur la route. » Les sapeurs furent arrêtés au moment où ils allumaient la mèche. Puis, plus tard au cours de la même journée, Charles captura personnellement une mitrailleuse à une équipe ennemie. Le 18e Bataillon est arrivé à Mons le 11 novembre 1918, le jour même qui marque la fin officielle de la guerre. Six mois plus tard, le capitaine Charles Smith revenait sain et sauf au Canada. Il a reçu sa Croix militaire des mains du prince de Galles durant sa visite au Canada en octobre 1919. Il est décédé le 5 juin 1960.

Bien que plusieurs anciens combattants autochtones pourraient prétendre avoir reçu plus de décorations que les frères Smith durant la Première Guerre mondiale, y compris le caporal Francis Pegahmagabow qui est souvent cité comme étant l’ancien combattant autochtone le plus décoré de cette guerre, ayant reçu la Médaille militaire avec deux barrettes, Alexander et Charles Smith ont tous deux reçu la Croix militaire qui est la plus haute distinction individuelle ayant été attribuée à n’importe quel ancien combattant autochtone durant la Grande Guerre. Elle est la troisième récompense militaire la plus prestigieuse après la Médaille de l’ordre du Service distinguée et la Croix Victoria.

Lectures complémentaires

Notice biographique
Nom et prénom Smith, Alexander George Jr.
Nation Haudenosaunee
Nom de bande Cayuga Nation - Six Nation
Lieu de bande Six Nations of the Grand River, ON
Notes biographiques Son of Six Nations Cayuga chief, Alexander George Smith, and brother of Charles Smith, who also earned a MC, Smith later became Chief. Cf. Native soldiers, Foreign battlefields, p. 13
Conflit WWI
Unité du CEC 20th Bn, (Can.), 37th Haldimand Rifles 17 yrs.
Grade militaire Lieutenant, Captain
Expérience militaire antérieure Haldimand Rifles
Date d’inscription 1914-01-01
Décorations décernées (MC)
Notes sur la décoration In Oct. 1917, Smith was posted to a training camp at Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON. Many soldiers from Poland trained there. Smith had been promoted captain and served as adjutant, the commanding officer's assistant. When the war ended, Smith was named an Officer of the Order of the Black Star, a Polish order, for his distinguised service at the camp. Cf. Native soldiers, Foreign battlefields, p. 13
Identificateur 1389