Decoteau, Alexander

Decoteau in his track suit with a shamrock which indicates that he was a member of the Shamrock Athletic Club, Edmonton, c. 1912. Source

Alexander (Alex) Wuttunee Decoteau was a famous Canadian Cree Olympic athlete who served in WW1. Born on November 19, 1887, on the Red Pheasant Indian Reserve near North Battleford, Saskatchewan, he was the second youngest of five children born to Peter Decoteau (a Metis) and Dora (Mary) Pambrun (a Cree). His father, who had fought with Poundmaker at Cut Knife during the North-West Rebellion, was an employee of the Indian Department when he was murdered by an American citizen on February 3, 1891. Alexander was then only three years old. He had one sister (Emily) and three brothers (Benjamin, Samuel and Alfred).

Like many members of his band, Decoteau attended the reserve day-school. However, in May 1892, his mother having been left with no means to support herself and her family asked the Superintendent General of Indian Affairs to be readmitted to membership in the Red Pheasant Band of Indians and that three of her children, including Alexander, be placed in the nearby Battleford Indian Industrial School. It was at this time that he developed his athletic skills in boxing, cricket, soccer and baseball as well as in running.

Decoteau was very close to his elder sister Emily (Millie) and her family. After working for some time as a farm-hand, he moved to Edmonton in 1909 where he found employment as a blacksmith with his brother-in-law, David Gilliland Latta. He even lived with the couple for a while. Latta had emigrated from Ireland in 1889. Soon after, he joined the North-West Mounted Police and was stationed near South Battleford. Discharged in 1893, he established a sheep farm and married Jessie Scott who died a few years later in childbirth. Latta sold the farm in 1897 and moved to Edmonton where he worked as a carriage maker and married Emily Decoteau in 1899. The following year, he founded his own blacksmith and carriage shop and partnered with John H. Lyons in 1902. In 1905, Latta was appointed an alderman to the Edmonton City Council. But politics did not appeal to him, so he did not run in the following election. His partner Lyons left him in 1912 to found the Lyons Motors Ltd. As for Latta’s company, it continued on well as the D.G. Latta Ltd.

On January 16, 1911, Decoteau left his employment at the Latta and Lyons Company to join the Edmonton City Police as a constable, becoming the first aboriginal police officer in a municipal force in Canada. Recognizing his diligence and dedication to the job, the police chief promoted him to Sergeant on April 11, 1914 and he was placed in charge of the No. 4 Police Station. He also went on to become the country's first motorcycle policeman.

After moving to Edmonton, his athletic career as a runner blossomed. There was hardly a major middle or long-distance race in western Canada that Decoteau did not win. For instance, in June 1909, he won two five-mile races within six days of each other, one at the Edmonton Exhibition, the other at Lloydminster where he set a new western Canadian record. In 1910, he went on to win the Fort Saskatchewan ten-mile race in a time that was eight minutes faster than his nearest competitor. Then on Christmas day in 1910, Decoteau set the record for the Calgary Herald’s annual 6.33 mile race (on a snow-covered course) at 34 minutes, 19 seconds. He continued to win this race every time he entered it. With his record unbeaten, the cup was permanently presented to him in 1915. And at a provincial meet in Lethbridge, he won the five-mile, two-mile, one-mile, and half-mile races all in one day. Sports writers soon began to refer to him as the “Champion Runner of Alberta”. His running ability eventually earned him a place on Canada’s Olympic team in 1912 in Stockholm, Sweden. He was the only Albertan to compete in the games. He qualified in the 5,000 metre heat finishing second but in the final race, he suffered leg cramps and finished sixth in the 56,000 metre final. He was however awarded an Olympic Merit Diploma and a medal for his performance. Undeterred by this setback, Decoteau went on running and setting new records upon his return to Canada.

Following the outbreak of the Great War, Decoteau resigned from the police force to join the Canadian Expeditionary Force as a private on April 24, 1916. It should be noted that his army enlistment was voluntary – there was no conscription yet in Canada, and when it did come later, his police status would have exempted him. This was also a time when racist sentiment toward Aboriginals in Western Canada was strong and open.

Decoteau first served with the 202nd Canadian Infantry Battalion, also known as the Edmonton Sportsmen Battalion. This Battalion had been raised and mobilized in Edmonton during the winter of 1916. He trained at the Sarcee Military Camp between June and October. On October 4th, while in Sarcee, he made out his will to his sister Emily. Once overseas, half of his pay would have been placed in trust in some bank unless it was assigned to someone. His mother could not read or write, nor was she able to speak English. So rather than assigning his half-pay to her - he was afraid that she would be taken advantage of - he assigned it to his sister, asking her to keep it in the Bank till his return or, if he failed to come back, to keep it and take care of their mother. When he sailed for England with his Regiment on November 24, 1916, he had just over $100 to his credit.

While stationed in England, Decoteau went on competing and winning most service races held overseas. On one occasion, he won the five-mile race during a military sports day in Salisbury, England. But the trophy that was to be presented to the winner was misplaced and so King George V, who was presiding over the event, awarded him his personal gold pocket watch as a prize and Decoteau treasured it the rest of his life.The very next day, he entered another race but discovered that is was a bicycle race. Decoteau borrowed a bike and promptly went out and won that race.

In July 1917, Decoteau joined the 49th Infantry Battalion (Alberta Regiment) which was part of the 7th Infantry Brigade of the 3rd Canadian Division. This battalion served in France and Flanders till the end of the war. Putting his athletic abilities to good use, Decoteau served as a runner in the trenches. His regiment was sent to reconnoiter the enemy front lines and by September, it was still under constant heavy shelling and suffered severe casualties. By this time, Decoteau was becoming war-weary. On September 10, 1917, he wrote to his sister:

Well Sis, in spite of the fact that we are used very decently by the French people, there’s no use denying the fact that we are all aching and longing for our own beloved Canada. Of course there’s work to be done yet and I s’pose will stay till it is finished.

Most of our boys have become fatalists. Their motto is “If my turn comes next, I can’t do anything to avoid it, so I shouldn’t worry.” They don’t worry either. Of course there are lots who suffer from shell shock or nervous breakdown, and they can’t fight against fear, but most of the boys have a keen sense of humour, and laugh at almost anything. I know of one in particular, a corporal. He is the life and wit of our party. It’s the likes of him that make army life bearable, and the army is full of such as he.

By the end of October 1917, Decoteau found himself in Belgium, and in the thick of the battle of Passchendaele Ridge. On October 30th, the 3rd Division met with exceptional German resistance during the second stage of the Canadian assault of the Ridge. In his book “If You’re Reading this… - Letters from the Home Front”, Siân Price describes the scene at Passchendaele on October 30th:

The battalion were training regularly in gas and wiring drills by this time, in preparation for the Passchendaele offensive in the Ypres Salient. It was a unique location, with two armies almost surrounding each other, each refusing to relinquish their lines. At 5.40 am on 30 October, the attack that would cost Decoteau his life began. It was cold, wet and windy. Guns and howitzers created a hellish maelstrom of noise as the Canadians advanced. Eight minutes later, the enemy returned fire with a vengeance, from machine-gun posts and concrete pillboxes. The 49th Battalion were one of the hardest hit, yet still managed to capture Furst Farm. Indeed, overall, the Canadian forces gained up to a thousand yards of the almost three-thousand-yard line. They paid the price, though: 884 men killed, 1,429 wounded or gassed and 8 taken prisoner.

On this single day, the battalion suffered the worst casualties in the whole of its history. Among the victims was the battalion messenger, Private Decoteau, who fell victim to a German sniper’s bullet. He was just short of his 30th birthdate. It is said that the sniper who shot Decoteau took the gold watch awarded to him by King George V but his comrades later killed the sniper, recovering the treasured memento and sent it home to Decoteau’s mother. He was buried in the Passchendaele New British Cemetery near Ypres, Belgium.

In 1985, in Edmonton, Decoteau’s Cree relatives and friends performed a ceremony designed to “bring his spirit home”. According to their culture, since he had not had a Cree burial, his spirit had been left to wander the earth. In attendance for the ceremony were band council members, native veterans, representatives of the Canadian army, and a 10-member honour guard sent by the Edmonton Police Department. A burial song to guide Decoteau’s spirit home was performed by Red Pheasant band drummers and followed by a chant of homage. Then paying tribute to his memory, an Edmonton police piper played “Amazing grace”. Decoteau’s spirit was finally laid to rest.

Decoteau's many achievements continue to be recognized and remembered to this day. He has been inducted into the Edmonton City Police Hall of Fame, as well as in the Edmonton Sports Hall of Fame (1967), in the Saskatchewan Indian First Nations Sports Hall of Fame, in the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame (2000), in the Alberta Sport Hall of Fame (2001) and in Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame (2015). As part of Edmontons centennial celebrations in 2004, he was named one of the 100 Edmontonians of the Century. Each year since 2001, an Alex Decoteau run for students from kindergarten to Grade 9 is held in Edmonton. It is an event that draws attention to a remarkable Aboriginal role model and shows Aboriginal students that they too can achieve great things.

The Edmonton Police Museum and Archives holds a number of his personal and military trophies and awards, many of which were donated by his family, including his medal for participating in the 1912 Olympics and the Calgary Herald trophy which had been permanently presented to him in 1915. Then, in April 2014, the Edmonton Police Service made him the subject of “Legacy of Heroes”, a digital comic.

The City of Edmonton named a park located at the northwest corner of 105 Street and 102 Avenue in Downtown Edmonton the Alex Decoteau Park on September 24, 2014. Then, on October 28th of that same year, a future residential area in southeast Edmonton was also named after him. There is also a Decoteau Way, west of 97th Street and south of 144th Avenue, and a Decoteau Trail which is a walkway running from 80th Avenue to 87th Avenue, east of 184th Street.

Further reading

Photos

Alex Decoteau, his mother Mrs. Pambrun, and Peter Decoteau, circa 1910. City of Edmonton Archives. EA-302-68. Source

Alex Decoteau in police uniform, 1911. City of Edmonton Archives, EA-302-82. Source

This is a rare picture of Alex Decoteau probably taken at the Sarcee Military Camp where he trained during the summer of 1916. Source

Alexander Decoteau’s tombstone in the Passchendaele New British Cemetery near Ypres, Belgium. Source

Biographical Record
Full Name Decoteau, Alexander
Also Known As DeCouteau, Alexander
Heritage Cree
Band Location Edmonton, AB (also Red Pheasant FN, SK)
Birth Date 1887-11-19
Birthplace Battleford, SK
Date of Death 1917-10-30
Next of Kin Mother: Mrs. Dora Pamebrum
Married before Enlistment Single
Occupation before Enlistment Police Sergt.
Biographical Notes 1912 Olympian runner, Son of Peter and Mary Decoteau, of Battleford, Saskatchewan
Religion Church of England
Conflict WWI
Service Number 231462
Service Files http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/first-world-war-1914-1918-cef/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=333820
CEF Unit 202nd to (49th Bn)
Rank Private
Date of Enlistment 1916-04-24
Location of Enlistment Edmonton, AB
Age at Enlistment 29
Commonwealth War Graves Commission http://www.cwgc.org/find-war-dead/casualty/461212/DECOTEAU,%20ALEXANDER
Age at death 28
Burial location Passchendale New British Cemetery, Belgium
Veterans’ Land Grants reference number 1946-1957 (LAC RG10-B-3-e-xvi)
Identifier 1324

Decoteau, Alexander

Decoteau dans son survêtement de sport affichant un trèfle indiquant qu’il était membre du Shamrock Athletic Club, Edmonton, v. 1912. Source

Alexander (Alex) Wuttunee Decoteau était un athlète olympique canadien réputé qui a servi durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. D’origine crie, il est né le 19 novembre 1887 sur la réserve Red Pheasant située près de North Battleford, Saskatchewan. Il était l’avant-dernier de cinq enfants nés du mariage de Peter Decoteau (un Métis) et Dora (Mary) Pambrun (une Crie). Son père, qui s’était battu aux côtés de Poundmaker à Cut Knife durant la rébellion du Nord-Ouest, travaillait pour le ministère des Affaires indiennes lorsqu’il fut assassiné le 3 février 1891 par un citoyen Américain. Alexander n’avait alors que trois ans. Il avait une sœur (Emily) et trois frères (Benjamin, Samuel et Alfred).

Comme plusieurs membres de sa bande, Decoteau a fréquenté l’externat de la réserve. Cependant, en mai 1892, sa mère, qui n’avait plus les moyens nécessaires pour son soutien et celui de sa famille, a demandé au Surintendant général des Affaires indiennes de la réintégrer dans la bande de Red Pheasant et d’admettre trois de ses enfants, dont Alexander, à l’école industrielle indienne près de Battleford. C’est là qu’il développa ses capacités athlétiques dans les domaines de la boxe, du cricket, du soccer, du baseball, ainsi que de la course à pied.

Decoteau était très proche de sa sœur aînée Emily (Millie) et de sa famille. Après avoir travaillé pendant un certain temps comme ouvrier agricole, il déménagea en 1909 à Edmonton où il a trouvé un emploi dans une forge avec son beau-frère David Gilliland Latta. Il est même demeuré chez le couple pendant quelque temps. Latta avait émigré d’Irlande en 1889. Peu après son arrivée au Canada, il s’est enrôlé dans la Police montée du Nord-Ouest et fut posté près de South Battleford. Relevé de ses fonctions en 1893, il a mis sur pied une ferme d’élevage de moutons et a marié Jessie Scott qui est morte en couches quelques années plus tard. Latta a vendu la ferme en 1897 et est déménagé à Edmonton où il a travaillé comme fabricant de calèches, et c’est là qu’il épousa Emily Decoteau en 1899. L’année suivante, il a fondé sa propre forge et atelier de calèches puis, en 1902, il est entré en partenariat avec John H. Lyons. En 1905, Latta fut élu conseiller municipal pour la ville d’Edmonton, mais comme la politique ne lui plaisait guère, il ne s’est pas représenté à l’élection suivante. Son associé Lyons l’a quitté en 1912 pour fonder la compagnie Lyons Motors Ltd. Quant à la compagnie de Latta, les affaires se sont poursuivies sous le nom de D.G. Latta Ltd.

Le 16 janvier 1911, Decoteau a quitté son emploi à la Latta and Lyons Company pour devenir constable de police dans la Ville d’Edmonton. Il devint ainsi le premier officier de police autochtone dans une force de police municipale au Canada. En reconnaissance de sa diligence et de son dévouement à la tâche, le chef de police l’a promu au rang de sergent le 11 avril 1914 et lui confia la direction du poste de police no 4. Plus tard, il allait devenir le premier policier en motocyclette du pays.

Après son déménagement à Edmonton, sa carrière athlétique s’est développée à un rythme accéléré. Il a gagné presque toutes les courses de moyenne ou longue distance organisées dans l’Ouest canadien. Par exemple, en juin 1909, il a remporté deux courses de cinq milles en l’espace de six jours, l’une à l’Exposition d’Edmonton, et l’autre à Lloydminster où il a établi un nouveau record pour l’ouest du pays. En 1910, il a remporté la course de 10 milles à Fort Saskatchewan avec 8 minutes d’avance sur son plus proche compétiteur. Puis, le jour de Noël 1910, Decoteau a établi un nouveau record pour la Christmas Day Road Race, une épreuve annuelle de 6,33 milles organisée par le Calgary Herald avec un temps de 34 minutes et 19 secondes, et ce, sur une piste enneigée. Il a continué de remporter cette course à chaque fois qu’il y a participé. Comme son record n’avait jamais été battu, on lui présenta la coupe en permanence en 1915. Lors d’un événement provincial tenu à Lethbridge, il a gagné toutes les courses de cinq milles, deux milles, un mille et un demi-mille tenues en une seule journée. Les rédacteurs sportifs ont vite fait de le surnommer le « champion de la course à pied de l’Alberta ». Ses talents de coureur lui ont éventuellement valu une place sur l’équipe olympique canadienne lors des Jeux de Stockholm, Suède, en 1912. Il était le seul athlète de l’Alberta à participer à ces Jeux. Il s’est qualifié pour la course de 5,000 mètres terminant au second rang, mais dans la course finale de 56,000 mètres, il a terminé au sixième rang en raison de crampes aux jambes. On lui décerna néanmoins un diplôme olympique de mérite ainsi qu’une médaille pour sa performance. Ne se laissant pas décourager par ce revers, Decoteau a continué de courir et d’établir de nouveaux records dès son retour au Canada.

Suite au déclenchement de la Grande Guerre, Decoteau a quitté la force policière pour s’enrôler le 24 avril 1916 comme simple soldat dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien. Il faut noter qu’il s’est enrôlé volontairement puisque la conscription n’était pas encore obligatoire au Canada et, quand elle le fut, il en aurait été exempté à cause de son statut de policier. C’était aussi une époque où le racisme à l’endroit des Autochtones battait son plein dans l’Ouest du pays.

Decoteau a d’abord servi avec le 202e Bataillon d’infanterie canadienne, connu aussi sous le nom d’Edmonton Sportsmen Battalion. Ce bataillon avait été mis sur pied à Edmonton durant l’hiver 1916. Entre juin et octobre, il a reçu son entraînement au camp militaire de Sarcee. Le 4 octobre, alors qu’il se trouvait toujours à Sarcee, il a rédigé son testament et légua ses biens à sa sœur Emily. Une fois en Europe, la moitié de sa solde aurait été placé dans un compte en fidéicommis dans une quelconque banque à moins d’être attribuée à quelqu’un en particulier. Sa mère était analphabète et incapable de parler anglais. Alors, plutôt que de lui attribuer sa solde (il avait peur que l’on abuserait d’elle), il a préféré la transférer à sa sœur en la sommant de la conserver dans une banque jusqu’à son retour ou, dans le cas contraire, de la conserver pour prendre soin de leur mère. Lorsque lui et son régiment ont quitté pour l’Angleterre le 24 novembre 1916, son crédit ne s’élevait qu’à un peu plus de 100 $.

Alors que son bataillon était en poste en Angleterre, Decoteau a continué de participer et de gagner la plupart des courses militaires organisées à l’étranger. Lors de l’une de ces compétitions, il a gagné la course de cinq milles durant une journée sportive de l’armée à Salisbury, en Angleterre. Mais, le trophée qui devait être présenté au gagnant avait été égaré. Le roi George V, qui présidait l’événement, lui a donc offert sa propre montre de poche en or en guise de prix, et Decoteau l’a conservée précieusement toute sa vie. Dès le lendemain, il s’est inscrit pour une autre course mais a ensuite découvert qu’il s’agissait d’une course en bicyclette. Il a alors emprunté une bicyclette et se rendant aussitôt sur place, il a remporté la victoire.

En juillet 1917, Decoteau s’est joint au 49e Bataillon d’infanterie (Régiment d’Alberta) qui faisait partie de la 7e Brigade d’infanterie de la 3e Division canadienne. Ce bataillon a servi en France et dans les Flandres jusqu’à la fin de la guerre. Mettant à profit ses talents d’athlète, il servit comme coureur dans les tranchées. Son régiment fut envoyé en mission de reconnaissance le long de la ligne de front ennemie mais en septembre, il subissait toujours un pilonnage constant et les pertes étaient énormes. Decoteau commençait alors à se sentir las de la guerre. Le 10 septembre 1917, il écrivait à sa sœur :

Et bien chère sœur, en dépit du fait que les Français nous traitent très correctement, on ne peut nier le fait que nous avons tous un désir ardent de retrouver notre Canada bien-aimé. Évidemment, il reste encore du travail à faire et je suppose que je devrai rester jusqu’à ce qu’il soit terminé.

La plupart de nos gars sont devenus fatalistes. Leur devise est « Si je suis le prochain, je ne peux rien faire pour y échapper et, par conséquent, je ne devrais pas m’inquiéter. » Ils ne s’inquiètent pas non plus. Bien sûr qu’il y en a plusieurs qui souffrent de névrose des tranchées ou de dépression nerveuse, et ils ne peuvent lutter contre la peur, mais la plupart d’entre eux possèdent un bon sens de l’humour et un rien suffit à les faire rire. J’en connais un en particulier, un caporal. Il est l’inspiration de notre groupe. Ce sont ceux comme lui qui rendent notre vie supportable dans l’armée, et l’armée en compte beaucoup comme lui.

Vers la fin d’octobre 1917, Decoteau s’est retrouvé en Belgique, au cœur de la bataille de Passchendaele. Le 30 octobre, la 3e Division s’est heurtée à une forte résistance allemande au cours de la seconde étape de l’assaut des Canadiens sur la crête. Dans son livre « If You’re Reading this… - Letters from the Home Front », Siân Price décrit ainsi la scène à Passchendaele en ce 30 octobre :

À cette époque, le bataillon se prêtait régulièrement à des exercices de câblage et pour contrer les effets des gaz en vue de l’offensive de Passchendaele, dans le saillant d’Ypres. L’endroit était unique avec deux armées qui s’encerclaient pratiquement l’une l’autre, refusant chacune de céder leur ligne. À 5 h 40, le 30 octobre, l’attaque qui allait coûter la vie à Decoteau, débuta. Il faisait froid et humide, et c’était venteux. Durant l’avance des Canadiens, les canons et les obusiers produisaient un bruit infernal. Huit minutes plus tard, les ennemis ont répliqué avec force depuis leurs nids de mitrailleuses et leurs casemates en béton. Le 49e Bataillon fut l’un des plus durement frappés mais a réussi malgré tout à capturer la ferme Furst. En fait, les forces canadiennes ont repris jusqu’à mille mètres de la ligne qui mesurait près de trois milles mètres. Ils ont payé le prix : 884 morts, 1,429 blessés ou gazés et 8 prisonniers.

En cette seule journée, le bataillon a subi les pires pertes de son histoire. Parmi les victimes se trouvait le messager du bataillon, le soldat Decoteau, qui tomba sous les balles d’un tireur allemand. Il allait avoir bientôt 30 ans. On raconte que le tireur qui a tué Decoteau lui a volé la montre en or que lui avait donné le roi George V, mais ses camarades ont réussi peu après à tuer le tireur puis à récupérer l’objet précieux qu’ils ont fait parvenir à la mère de Decoteau. Il a été inhumé dans le nouveau cimetière britannique de Passchendaele, près d’Ypres (Ieper), en Belgique.

En 1985, à Edmonton, la famille et les amis cris de Decoteau ont pris part à une cérémonie conçue pour « ramener chez lui son esprit ». Selon leurs croyances, comme il n’avait pas été inhumé selon le rite cri, son esprit continuait toujours d’errer sur la terre. Parmi les personnalités présentes, il y avait des membres de conseils de bande, des anciens combattants autochtones, des représentants de l’Armée canadienne et une garde d’honneur composée de 10 membres déléguée par le Service de police d’Edmonton. Un chant funèbre destiné à guider le retour de l’esprit de Decoteau chez lui a été interprété par les tambours de la bande de Red Pheasant, puis ce chant fut suivi d’un chant d’honneur. Enfin, un cornemusier de la police d’Edmonton a rendu un dernier hommage à sa mémoire en exécutant la pièce « Amazing Grace ». L’esprit de Decoteau pouvait enfin reposer en paix.

Les nombreux exploits de Decoteau continuent d’être reconnus et commémorés jusqu’à ce jour. Il a été intronisé à l’Edmonton City Police Hall of Fame, ainsi qu’au Temple de la renommée du sport d’Edmonton (1967), au Saskatchewan Indian First Nations Sports Hall of Fame, au Temple de la renommée des sports de la Saskatchewan (2000), au Temple de la renommée du sport de l’Alberta (2001) et au Panthéon des sports canadiens (2015). À l’occasion des célébrations du centenaire de la Ville d’Edmonton en 2004, il a été désigné comme l’un des 100 Edmontonniens du siècle. Chaque année depuis 2001, une course Alex Decoteau est organisée à Edmonton pour les élèves de l’école maternelle jusqu’à la 9e année. Cet événement attire l’attention sur un modèle autochtone remarquable pour les élèves autochtones et leur confirme qu’eux aussi, ils peuvent accomplir de grandes choses.

L’Edmonton Police Museum and Archives conserve plusieurs de ses récompenses et trophées personnels et militaires, dont bon nombre proviennent de sa famille, y compris la médaille qu’il a reçu pour sa participation aux Olympiques de 1912 et le trophée du Calgary Herald qui lui fut présenté de façon permanente en 1915. Puis, en avril 2014, le Service de police d’Edmonton s’est inspiré de son histoire pour en faire le héros d’une bande dessinée numérique intitulée « Legacy of Heroes ».

Le 24 septembre 2014, la Ville d’Edmonton a donné son nom à un parc, le parc Alex Decoteau, qui est situé au coin nord-ouest de la 105e rue et de la 102e avenue du centre-ville. Puis, le 28 octobre suivant, une future zone résidentielle dans le sud-est de la ville a également été baptisée en son honneur. Il existe aussi une Voie Decoteau à l’ouest de la 97e rue et au sud de la 144e avenue, ainsi qu’un sentier Decoteau qui est une allée piétonnière qui longe la 80e jusqu’à la 87e avenue, du côté est de la 184e rue.

Further reading

Photos

Alex Decoteau, sa mère Dora Pambrun et Peter Decoteau, vers 1910. City of Edmonton Archives. EA-302-68. Source

Alex Decoteau dans son uniforme de policier, 1911. City of Edmonton Archives, EA-302-82. Source

Une photo rare d’Alex Decoteau sans doute prise au cours de l’été 1916 lors de son entraînement au camp militaire de Sarcee. Source

La pierre tombale d’Alexander Decoteau au cimetière britannique de Passchendaele, près d’Ypres, Belgique. Source

Notice biographique
Nom et prénom Decoteau, Alexander
Aussi connu comme DeCouteau, Alexander
Nation Cree
Lieu de bande Edmonton, AB (also Red Pheasant FN, SK)
Date de naissance 1887-11-19
Lieu de naissance Battleford, SK
Date de décès 1917-10-30
Proche parent Mother: Mrs. Dora Pamebrum
Marié avant l’inscription Single
Métier avant l’inscription Police Sergt.
Notes biographiques 1912 Olympian runner, Son of Peter and Mary Decoteau, of Battleford, Saskatchewan
Religion Church of England
Conflit WWI
Numéro de service 231462
Dossiers de service http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/first-world-war-1914-1918-cef/Pages/item.aspx?IdNumber=333820
Unité du CEC 202nd to (49th Bn)
Grade militaire Private
Date d’inscription 1916-04-24
Lieu d’inscription Edmonton, AB
Âge au moment de l’inscription 29
Commonwealth War Graves Commission http://www.cwgc.org/find-war-dead/casualty/461212/DECOTEAU,%20ALEXANDER
Décédé à l’âge de 28
Lieu d’enterrement Passchendale New British Cemetery, Belgium
Numéro de réference Veterans’ Land Grants 1946-1957 (LAC RG10-B-3-e-xvi)
Identificateur 1324